We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Britannia Hotel Stockport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Britannia Hotel Stockport to your Saves list
Britannia Hotel Stockport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I was working near Stockport the following day and had an all inclusive price for doing the job, so was simply looking for somewhere cheap to kip for the night and the Britannia did the job.

I read the reviews on Tripadvisor prior to booking and knew what to expect and at £19 I knew where to set my expectations. Plentiful car parking at the back of the building, check in was quick and problem free. Straight into the room that for whatever reason had three single beds lined up in it. Yep, the walls are paper thin and I could hear the conversations and coughing from the people next door, but that all died off by 11pm so I got a full night's sleep.

This place certainly isn't five star, but it did what I wanted.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, conference and banqueting manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for comments.
Unfortunately if there are no single or double bedded available on arrival we do have to overflow into family rooms. I hope this did not cause any inconvenience to yourself.
Olivia Wright
Conference and Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    113
    179
    120
    400
See reviews for
132
257
59
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My wife & I stayed in room 133 last night. What a terrible room. Hard beds, tatty decor & furnishing. No hot water for a shower. Best thing about the stay was the breakfast & leaving.
Our room was supposed to be 'deluxe' !!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, Conference and Banqueting Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Room 133 is a deluxe family room. It has been newly decorated within the past year and the beds have been replaced in the past 6 months,
My apologies if it was not to your satisfaction.
Olivia Wright
Conference and Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Arrived at 2200 having prepaid for hotel. I had booked a twin room for myself and grwn up son.
They had sold my room to someone else because of overbooking. Claimed they had no contact details to advise me of the problem. This was a lie as they had my email and phone addresses.
Receptionist said they had no twin rooms available and that all other rooms were booked. Another lie as we were told the following morning by the manager that they could have given us an extra single room. Receptionist had put a childs Z bed in the room for my son who had an extremely uncomfortable night and could not sleep. In the morning the manager promised to refund the amount paid to my credit card. Never happened despite reminders. This was a depressing hotel with dated furnishings, very poor breakfast food and service and generally incompetent and demotivated staff and management. I am requesting my credit card company to arrange a refund.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else please
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, conference and banqueting manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
My apologies that you experienced problems with your booking.
Unfortunately as all hotels, we do experience overbookings. I am sorry that an additional room was not offered to you.
Olivia Wright
Conference and Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on business. Never again. The hotel was booked via a travel company who paid via credit card. When it came to check out the receptionist refused to process the credit card details because I didnt know whose name was on the credit card. I gave him the name of the travel company and the name of the my company. However he wanted the name of the actual person. He became verbally aggressive! He then changed his mind and process it! Food poor room needed a deep clean.

Room Tip: another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, Conference and Banqueting Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
My apologies that you found the receptionist to be abrupt, I am sure this was not his intention.
They were correct that if we do not have written authorisation to charge a third parties card we should not charge it. I am sorry if you felt you were being interrogated.
Olivia Wright
Conference and Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Recently stayed at this hotel for one night with a coach trip, the reception was quick when we arrived, we set off to our rooms which were on 3rd floor via a very antiquated lift, it did give us a laugh. We got to our room which was very hot, but as the night went on it was freezing. The bathroom needed a total clean dirt behind the door is not attractive, but the shower worked okay. The food was really good with adequate choices. We could get served easily at night at the bar. I requested an early morning call as I had forgotten my alarm clock but that didnt happen even though it was written in a diary. I reported it next day at reception but it was just shrugged off. Overall staying here served its purpose but one night was enough.

Room Tip: I didnt staty long enough to suss this out where we were on the 3rd floor very noisy with revellers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, Conference and Banqueting Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
My apologies that you did not receieve your early morning, it may be the phone in the room. I will ask maintenance to do a phone check over the next couple of days to avoid this happening in the future.
Olivia Wright
Conference and Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night. the check in took a while however the food was great in the morning. Geat selection of breakfast. The swimming pool was great and i suppose the rooms need updated but sleep quality wasnt bad. It wasnt bad for what you pay for as the food was good and so was the pool and hot tub.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, Conference and Banqueting Manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your comments. My apologies that there was a delay on check in.
Olivia Wright
Conference and Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

There was 28 of us a few days ago on a coach party, and it was stocking.. We arrived about 7pm and was sorted quickly! We got to our room which was shocking room 284, we had a dirty floor, socks and a sandwich in our draws that hadn't been cleaned the bathroom was shocking and had hair in it, we went down for dinner at 7.15 and the staff was very rude and dressed like slobs, i was sat with my friend and one person came over and said ya want soup? And we said no and he walked away he was stood about a table away when he asked us, the we say ther and got told they have go get out our selfs, got to the counter thing n there was food that looked like poo tbh i left it and went to McDonald's later on in the night! Over all the hotel was freaking shocking

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager702, Conference and banqueting manager at Britannia Hotel Stockport, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
My apologies that you were unhappy with the restaurant food during your stay.
I am sure that you will agree that it is difficult to cater for everyones tastes on a carvery style meal. Fortunately we do not tend to receieve many complaints with regards to this.
Olivia Wright
Conference and Banqueting Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannia Hotel Stockport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Stockport

Address: 67 Dialstone Lane | Offerton, Stockport SK2 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Stockport 3*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Britannia Hotel Stockport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stockport Britannia Hotel
Britannia Hotel Stockport Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannia Hotel Stockport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.