We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jodhpur Lounge( Rock Tavern)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Jodhpur Lounge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Jodhpur Lounge
Glossop Road, Stockport, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #156 of 349 Restaurants in Stockport
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Marple
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Jodhpur Lounge( Rock Tavern)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This Restaurant is one mile out of Marple Bridge on the Glossop Rd.
It was our first visit and we were pleasantly surprised. Nicely laid table, very smart attentive staff
and a super menu. I had a chickhen chili tikka massala- wonderful! there are lots of other specials on the menu. The restaurant still maintains it's "pub status" so I am looking forward to my next visit when perhaps instead of a full meal I will try one of the many Indian Bar snacks
with a pint

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best curry in Manchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We went to the Jodhpur Lounge last Friday - got there for 7pm - car park was empty and we nearly didnt go in ! Lucky that we did - the service was very attentive, the food more importantly was excellent, there were dishes on the menu that we hadn't seen before which we had to try - food very tasty, excellent balance of spice versus flavour.
The previous week we went to what was rated as the best Indian restaurant in Manchester by tripadvisor ( on the curry mile ) The Jodhpur Lounge was far superior !

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best curry in Glossop area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

We have visited Jodhpur Lounge 5 times recently and we have never been disappointed. The food and service just keeps getting better and better.

Beautiful surroundings muted greys and orange with some lovely atmospheric lighting.

Interesting menu with all the usuals and some exciting additions. Everything weave tried has been excellent. Dhal, sag bhaji, tandoori chicken, duck starter and fish starter all deserve special mentions. Noticeably non-oily, which I hate. Salad is more than the normal leaf of iceberg, quarter of tomato and slice of cucumber. It has a lovely subtle dressing. The mango and pistachio kulfis are wonderful too.

Very good range of beers at the bar. Cobra, Kronenburg, Timothy Taylors.

Can feel a little 'cold' early doors but soon gets a buzz when there are a couple of tables in.


Prices are very reasonable for the quality and portion sizes.

All in all a great place.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Visited this restaurant with hubby and 2 young boys and we were very impressed with professional service and tasty food. Sizzling mixed starter is worth a mention on its own! Its probably suffering with Purple Pakora being easier to get to but this is definitely worth a drive out! I believe they will soon be launching special Sunday menu £10 adults £6 kids (I think!) anytime soon. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Had passed this resteraunt numerous times, decied to try it and glad we did, service friendly without being intrusive, quality of food was excellent from starters and naan bread.
but the curries were different and excellent, my wife said it was the best curry she has ever eaten, and that is quite a few!, probably more expensive than average but worth it. great setting maybe more appreciated in warmer weather.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jodhpur Lounge also viewed

Marple, Stockport
Cheadle Hulme, Stockport
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Jodhpur Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jodhpur Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.