We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Microwaved food cooked by cooks not by chefs” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Rectory

The Old Rectory
48 Churchgate, Stockport SK1 1YG, England
1614 290060
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 356 Restaurants in Stockport
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: Next to the Premier Inn
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Microwaved food cooked by cooks not by chefs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

In fairness this looks the part, a large bar area, ample parking and a hotel joining on to it. However the food menu is very basic, chips burger, chilli, pasta and wraps ect ect. It okay for families but trust me the food is basic and obviously microwaved pub food. On a warm day when you have been shopping call in for a drink but I would leave it at that.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear steve c,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Old Rectory in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    32
    28
    17
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“bad food poor service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is the worst restaurant I have ever been to. After waiting for nearly a hour for the food to arrive when it finally arrived it was inedible it was supposed to be roast beef iwhich was processed meat the service is terrible with staff that can't be bothered I most certainly never go there again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Great Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Visited here on a Thursday evening when the place was approx. 3/4 full.
Geared towards dining for families with very reasonably priced food.
We ate in the large Conservatory dining area.
Contrary to other reviews the food we received was excellent.
Large portions, very well cooked and very tasty.
The staff were polite, well mannered and very helpful
A very enjoyable visit and would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I just returned back home from having tea,and quite honestly I feel disgusted from my meal. I ordered a 6x burger. The bread was ROCK HARD,I could not even bite into it. I had to take my burger apart and eat it with a fork. Not to mention the food took about,30 minutes to arrive to the table. This was my first and last time I will eat here. You really do get what you pay for,a £5 disgusting,non edible burger.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear SashaBowers,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Old Rectory in regards to the service you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Poor Service & Poor Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We went to the Old Rectory last night for a meal for my son's 14th birthday and have to say that this place has gone downhill since we last ate there. Living nearby we have been here many times for meals and regularly pop in for a drink when we are out shopping. We sat outside last night and had a couple of drinks and went into the restaurant at 8.15pm and all the tables had "This table is reserved" cards on them. We could not believe that they would be booked up on a Wednesday night as there were at this point only about 5 tables with people at them. My husband asked a staff member if all the tables were actually reserved and she said no and said we could sit where we wanted so we chose a table. They probably lose a lot of custom by having these cards on all the tables as not everybody would question it. I ordered our food (for six people) at 8.32pm and at 8.50pm one of our starters arrived (3 were ordered). At 9.05pm I tried to find a staff member to ask how long our food would be and on finding one she went into the kitchen and said they were doing it now and would be a few minutes. It was 9.25pm before anything came out and this was our mains. I questioned about our starters and she should they are on their way. Starters arrived after main meal!!!! The food was no better than the service once it arrived. I had New York Chicken and the chicken was chewy and it was like it had been stood for hours and the bacon was mostly fat. My husband and daughter had the potato and leek pie and the pastry was rock hard and the filling was disgusting. My son had the toad in the hole as he loves yorkshire pudding. Well he didn't eat any of the yorkshire pud as his knife could not even cut through it. The only satisfactory meals were the two kids meals ordered for my niece and nephew. Nobody came over to ask us if we were happy with our meals and there were no staff about when we had finished as we were the last people to leave the restaurant at 10pm. The only thing that is different with this place since we last ate is that is it has been taken over by the Fayre-Square chain. I know this is a fairly cheap place to eat with two meals for £10 but you now actually get cheap meals where previously you got decent meals at a cheap price!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Rectory, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Andrea H,

Thank for taking the time to provide us with your review.

I would like to apologise that we failed to meet your expectations at the Old Rectory in regards to the food which you received. I can confirm that I have passed on your concerns to the management team who would like to investigate your feedback. We have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Kind regards

Fayre & Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Rectory also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Old Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.