We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog And Partridge

The Dog And Partridge
88 Buxton Road | High Lane, Stockport SK6 8HJ, England
01663 762413
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #222 of 318 restaurants in Stockport
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We popped in on our way back from Stockport, in hindsight I wish we had kept driving. There was a problem in the kitchen do there was only turkey on. Another irk is when I won't over to the gravy it was empty and looked like it had been for sometime. The turkey was very dry and we both struggled with the meal, in the end we left. I wanted lime soda and they had none. What pub doesn't have lime. Very disappointing

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

33% Recommend
    2
    8
    11
    1
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely staff, nice food but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault the staff or value for food. For My first visit I found the whole experience great!! Except for my drink. The bar tender just taken the bottle off the shelf after looking in a few fridges, he didn't explain that they didn't have any cold or apologise but apart from that his service was great.
The young lad who served us our meat for carvery was a pleasure to talk to, chatty and professional thanks teddy :-) we will call again soon

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is another crown carvey, it is a very nice restaurant in the heart of a enjoyable part of acaheshire, fine food excellent staff and a pleasure to dine her, a place to go when out and about.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly and helpful staff, food more akin to (bad) nursing home dates though..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited this pub with some reservations given the change a few years ago from a gastro-pub menu to a straight carvery type. It was a short notice visit with family and this was our main option. The staff were friendly and helpful and I can't fault them there. However the food was average at best. The meats were dry and stringy, the stuffing lacked any imagination or fresh ingredients, the veg was on the cusp of over cooked and mushy and some of the roasties were like rocks that had been painted. You get what you pay for and whilst there were a few people piling their plates as high as they could, that doesn't mean I would go back for more. Think I'll pass on gong back again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Stockports family favourite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Recently been took over by Jason he has seemed to put this place back on the great
Pub map again, lovely draft beers in lovely clean, friendly surroundings.
Regular entertainment at weekends...this place is worth a look!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dog And Partridge also viewed

Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 
Stockport, Greater Manchester
Stockport, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Dog And Partridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog And Partridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.