We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   271 Wellington Road North | Heaton Chapel, Stockport SK4 5BP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
Banbury
1 review
“Cheap and cheerful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on the 12th and 13th September 2012. Check-in is at the main bar of the Toby Inn and I stayed on the second floor. Room was O.K and generally clean although the hotel had a slightly run down appearance overall. I had my evening meal at the carvery in the Toby and at £5.95 it was good value. However it also attracted a lot of local's of the chav kind for cheap meals. The cooked breakfast was very good.

The walls in the rooms are paper thin and on my second night I was woken at 1.30am by the next door occupant who had been locked out of the room by his wife / girlfriend and was banging loudly on the door for around 10 minutes at which point my patience reached breaking point and I shouted for him to stop but was totally ignored and he continued to bang on the door for the next 10 minutes before he gained entry. He and his partner then talked loudly for the rest of the night and were still going strong at 7am when I gave up any pretense of getting any sleep.

I would have liked to have awarded this hotel more stars but my stay was ruined by this noisy couple in the next room. Walls are to thin and needs some kind of sound proofing.

Room Tip: Bring some ear plugs or pay a bit more to avoid sharing a hotel with rude selfish people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    37
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
17
35
4
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed overnight at the inn keepers lodge the price included breakfast and we were delighted with the chioce of breakfast - the room was spotless and the staff were very polite and attentive
if in the area we would most definately stay again !

Room Tip: no lifts so take less luggage !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockley. Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in a twin room. price is low for the area and it's when you go to your room you find out why. The main bedroom looks fine as you first enter but after a few moments you start to notice things that are in need of a lot of TLC ie: a lot of dusting and the curtains were made by the Bodg-it curtain company. the electric kettle had to be held down on its adaptor to get it to work. the bedside light was fed by a wire from a switched spur but not as you would expect, securely, it was just dangling from this spur which was not securely fitted to the wall.
The beds were not very comfortable (twin room) both my wife and I did not get much sleep due to this.
The bathroom was really in need of Lots and Lots of TLC but the toilet was clean (nuff said).
It's ok for a budget stay, we will be visiting stockport about 4 times a year (Family) but we will not be staying at the Innkeeper's Lodge. The continental breakfast was very good RG (Essex)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales uk
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed here for the Stone Roses concert over the weekend, thought it might be an issue with travel in and out of city centre and to Heaton Park but with the friendly advice given by the staff was made easy. The rooms clean and tidy booked two twin rooms excellent value for money continental breakfast included but for the extra couple of quid the full English was good with a 3 hour journey home set you up. Would recommend VFM!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Ignored at check in for 5 minutes by staff member who was struggling with the computer system. Arrival of another staff member gave us an acknowledgement of our being there but after an apology we still had to wait for a further 5 to 10 minutes before we were checked in. This entailed looking on a preprinted list which was on the check in desk all the time and taking payment in full for our 3 night stay. Given a room key and sent to our room.
This was clean and quite well appointed but the shower was at most a dribble and the mattress was in need of retirement.
Breakfast was included in the room rate but was "continental" and no cooked option was mentioned by any of the staff. Coffee was excellent!!
Stairwell to rooms was badly lit and smelled a lot!!

Room Tip: No lift and rooms on first and second floor only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have stayed here on many occasions and have never been disappointed the rooms are lovely and clean tea tray restocked everyday and if you run out just ask at the bar and they will give you more the staff are very friendly and helpful nice carvery food always fresh it does get busy but they will always find you a table the lady at breakfast I think her name is Penny is so helpful and nothing is to much bother for her the breakfast is very good plenty of choice from toast to cereal plus fruit, muffins, cheese, yogurts etc the only downfall is if your room is on the second floor the stairs are very steep and narrow but all in all a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: go for first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Have stayed here previously and certainly will again. Had a room on the second floor this time which was a bit of a climb, not so great if you have mobility issues, but no problem for us. Only slight negatives were a weak shower and poor sound insulation between rooms. I actually walked out of our bathroom and answered my partner's question, only to discover she was still asleep and the question came from someone through the locked adjoining door. Breakfast was good and the small £5 for 2 upgrade to a buffet style full english was certainly worth having. Parking is plentiful and safe, staff pleasant and Heaton Chapel station a short walk.

Room Tip: Request a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel

Address: 271 Wellington Road North | Heaton Chapel, Stockport SK4 5BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Stockport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Stockport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heaton Chapel lodge offers quality budget accommodation right on the doorstep of Stockport and Manchester. It's a good base for visits to Manchester Conference Centre, or if you simply want to make the most of this vibrant part of the country. There's so much to do in the area, you'll be spoilt for choice. Stockport is blessed with some real hidden gems, including the stunning medieval Bramall Hall, the beautifully preserved tunnels of the Stockport air-raid shelters and the intriguing Hat Museum. Manchester needs little introduction, as it's famous for its prolific music scene, buzzing nightlife, world class shopping and two celebrated football teams. Further afield you can visit Cheadle, the scenic Cheshire Plain and the sweeping hills of the Peak District. All of these attractions are within striking distance, but you'll find great food just next door at Toby Carvery. So if you're a fan of freshly roasted joints and seasonal vegetables, you're in for a treat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper`s Lodge Stockport Hotel Stockport
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.