We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aumbry

Aumbry
2 Church Lane | Prestwich, Prestwich, Bury M25 1AJ, England
0161 798 5841
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Aumbry is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Prestwich
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A unique dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We had read the other reports on Tripadvisor and so were prepared and certainly not disappointed with the Nine Course Tasting menu. In our case for two seniors. Wine was with the female partner and the driver enjoyed the local water. We termed the evening a dining adventure. The two young ladies who looked after us were friendly and informative and each course was explained and each wine described in expert detail. The time slipped away as our 6.30 arrival ended at 10.10 departure without the coffee but well satisfied. This is not the venue for a quick meal and prompt service but the enjoyment of a well prepared menu which has a good balance and challenging preparation in the kitchen. It is expensive but we treated it as a very special evening and were not disappointed. My wife found the wines complimented each dish and we have been introduced to some very fine cellars. The ambiance was comfortable with a well filled restaurant proving it's popularity. Our favourite 'tasters' were the Bury Black Pudding Scotch Egg and the Potato and Wild Garlic Soup.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    46
    24
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent as expected, faultless food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I'm actually stunned at the negative reviews below as I'd just popped on to write a quick review in praise of the food. We visited on a Wednesday evening and ate from the a la carte menu - all dishes (St George's mushrooms, scotch egg, venison, rabbit, apple pie and.. another dessert) were excellent and could easily be counted as 'fine dining'. It's a lovely atmosphere, too - cosy rather than starkly modern, which was to my liking.

Service was helpful and efficient, but did verge on too subservient at times as I prefer a more relaxed manner. It's definitely not a place for a quick meal, though - you do need to allow at least 2 and a half hours. Dinner for 2 with a drink each cost about £80, which seemed excellent value - will definitely visit again in the future.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“life is too short”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We started with the 12 course tasting menu, the food looked terrific, but alas was bland. I felt the "knowledge" of our waiting staff was rehearsed rather than fully understood, and the time, the time it took between courses seemed to stretch into forever. We adjusted to the 9 course menu, which was very good of them. I have been to some of the best restaurants around the world, expensive ones. Aumbry was the second most expensive one I've been too. I felt it was rude to ask for that amount of money for that level of cooking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Won't be rushing back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have been regular customers of Aumbry since it opened but not sure I will be rushing back, which is a pity because we live close by. We had a 6 course tasting menu as we know that the portions are small plus a couple of drinks, a bottle of wine (one of the cheaper ones on the menu) and one extra glass of wine - but the bill (including the 10% service charge) at just short of £200 did not for us represent good value for money. The drinks in particular are very expensive - particularly so when a further 10% service charge is added. The service was ok but I increasingly feel that we are doing the place a favour by eating there. We went there to celebrate our wedding anniversary but it was not a memorable evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tasty Tuesday introduction to fine dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

If you dont know much about fine dining and you don't want to pay the £60+ prices for it, then head to this little hideout in prestwich called aumbry.
Set off a main road which runs through prestwich village, the restaurant has a converted home feel to it. Decorated in simple enlglish White linen and it's very cosy, light and airy.
The staff are attentive and knowledgeable on the dishes.
I have been twice and love the place. The menu uses locally sourced food and you can see the kitchen from only a few tables away.
The tasty Tuesday offer is a 5 course taster menu for £25 pp, don't expect massive portions, that's not what fine dining is about, it about letting your taste buds experience new flavours, combinations and textures and also filling your belly up a little!
Food is amazing, beautifully put together and the whole experience is very enjoyable.
We arrived at 6.30 and left around 9pm ish, we had the option of having coffees upstairs, but we had to head off.
Overall, if you want out to treat then head to aumbry, if you want a full belly, then head to mcdonalds!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aumbry also viewed

 
Prestwich, Bury
Prestwich, Bury
 

Been to Aumbry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aumbry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.