We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“birthday treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Bill

The Old Bill
Police headquarters | 35 Greaves Street, Oldham OL1 1TJ, England
0161 628 5895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 199 Restaurants in Oldham
Price range: $16 - $156
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The restaurant was established in 1995 when Marco Senior and his son Paolo decided to create an authentic, family run family feel restaurant. The restaurant has built up a reputation as the perfect place for that intimate meal, or social and family occasion in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere situated in the heart of Oldham. This has now been developed further by moving its premises to Greaves st where it now not only boasts THE White Rooms funtion suit but also a custom built music venue in its basement called Letsby Avenue...From srength to strength we grow trying our best to merge a traditional family bistro with a multy facilitated building. we hope you visit and give us your opinion soon...paolo
oldham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

we dined here for my birthday, there was 8 in our party. we was early so we were led to the downstairs bar and had drinks whilst reading the menus Paolo came and took our orders and led us to our table. the food was excellent and the service top notch. a big thank you to Paolo and his staff. would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    25
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A birthday treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We went to the Old Bill for my sisters birthday treat. The staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. The food is excellent and well cooked. We were looked after vey well and will definitely return - many thanks to Paolo & his staff for a lovely evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A late wedding review.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Earlier this year on the 13th July my husband and I held our afternoon wedding reception at The Old Bill. My late review is no reflection of our experience, just my own poor time management...
Our decision to use The Old Bill was based on a few things. The building is where we met, almost 10 years ago when we both worked in the Townhouse. Since we started dating we have enjoyed many dates at The Old Bill, both at the old premises and the newer one. I also celebrated my 21st there and we have been there for New Years. We also knew that we would only have around 50 or so guests and wanted somewhere a bit more intimate.
Paolo is always a pleasure to deal with and the run up to the wedding was no exception. I never once stressed about how the meal was going to be and with good reason. All our family and friends have said is how good the food was and how great the staff were. It was one of the hottest days of the year and I'm sure they felt it but they were fabulous all day. It was like celebrating with friends.
We also used Paolo's buffet service for our evening reception and again only had great feedback.
We were very very pleased with how everything went and wouldn't change anything.
Once again we extend our thanks and gratitude to Paolo and his Old Bill family.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food and good surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The early bird memu was our choice before going to the threatre. Memu was not wide, and to some respects littled for veggies, but wholesome and reasonably priced. Interesting decor which must make it difficult to clean, but clean it was. The toilets were of a reasonable high standard too. Staff prompt, attentive & friendly. Food was tastie, suffiecent in quantity and well prepared. Would we go again, It has plently of good competition, but yes if we are in the area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good place to eat the son has now taken over the business and moved it into Greaves street excellent service and great food

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Bill also viewed

Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 
Oldham, Greater Manchester
Oldham, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Old Bill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Bill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.