We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shippon Saddleworth

The Shippon Saddleworth
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oldham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shippon Saddleworth
Grains Road | Delph, Oldham OL3 5RL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Oldham B&B and Inns
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

The Shippon is a lovely, tastefully refurbished and beautifully decorated old cow shed (all the rooms are named after breeds of cow)! with scenic views out onto the dales. We arrived after a long and slightly fraught (ie we got lost) journey en route to a friend's wedding, and were immediately welcomed by our friendly host, Alice, with a cup of tea.

The B&B is set in beautiful scenery, just outside the village of Saddleworth (so ideal for those who want to get away from it all, as opposed to wanting to be in the thick of it - that's the only reason for the four rather than five star, as being quite remote some people may find it harder to get to).

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, and, a particular plus for myself, the bathrooms are stocked with proper, full size toiletries - not the plastic sachets so often found in B&Bs! A real home from home treat.

Breakfast was very tasty and set us up well for the long drive back home.

Thoroughly recommend The Shippon - only a shame we had to rush home after breakfast and couldn't spend longer enjoying the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
31
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

We were attending a wedding at The Saddleworth Hotel which had very expensive accomodation. Found the Shippon online, checked with tripadvisor and were very glad we did. A lovely b&b. Very warm welcome from Alice. Comfortable room. Good hearty breakfast. We stayed two nights and on the day following the wedding went to Dovestones and walked around reservoir. A beautiful area, then a visit to Holmfirth.
Would definately recommend this b&b. If attending a wedding at Saddleworth hotel taxi only £4.50. Worth every penny. Will definately stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We opted to stay at The Shippon having found it via Trip Advisor - and it certainly lives up to the great reviews. The room we stayed in was lovely and offered modern, comfortable, spacious accommodation and was beautifully clean. The bed itself was a fantastically comfortable double divan which had a properly supportive mattress. The room decor was very nice and the blinds have black out linings so despite the glorious sunshine we were able to sleep well. Although we both have full mobility and the bedroom and bathroom were designed for limited mobility access this only enhanced the accommodation in my opinion. The ensuite wet room (which has a walk-in shower area) was amazing and very spacious indeed. (We had this room as all other rooms were already booked).

I definitely recommend staying here if you want good quality, modern, comfortable accommodation which is great value for money. There is also a small lounge area in the breakfast room and we were given a welcoming cup of tea on arrival despite not arriving until well gone 10 o'clock at night! The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and there was a good range of cereal and fresh juice available. The views from the breakfast room over the valley are lovely. As our room was for limited mobility it was on the ground floor we did not have particularly good views but I suspect some of those located on the upper floors would have very good views indeed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

What can I say but it's a 100 out of 10, we go most weeks me & my partner & we chill out,
Alice is a Jem, We be lost with out her we feel as though we have been on our holidays when we come home from the Shippon.
Well Done Alice xx

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

Stayed at the Shippon for one night in May 2009 and all i can say is it was like a home from home. The rooms are extremely comfortable and spacious and you have everything you could possibly need. The only downfall was that we couldnt stay longer!! The price is very reasonable indeed and the landlady was very accommodating and could not do enough for you. The breakfast is also very highly recommended!! Would love to go back and stay again. if you are looking for a small B&B which is cosy, warm and very peaceful with beautiful surroundings then this is the place for you. I can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

Stayed at the Shippon April 09- Attended a wedding at the Saddleworth Hotel and stayed at the Shippon - £65 a room and only £4 in taxi to the Saddleworth Hotel. The rooms were pure luxury and the breakfast to die for!! The landlady was a perfect host..Will Stay Again !!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We stayed at the Shippon following the excellent reviews we'd already read on trip advisor and we were definitely not disappointed. This property was immaculate and could not be faulted in any way from the helpful owner to the full english breakfast in the morning.

The Shippon is in a great location if attending a wedding at the Saddleworth Hotel as we were or just for a relaxing break as we intend to do early next year. Our advice to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in this area is look no further and book straight away.

  • Liked — Suberb Rooms!
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Shippon Saddleworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shippon Saddleworth

Address: Grains Road | Delph, Oldham OL3 5RL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Oldham
Also Known As:
The Shippon Saddleworth Oldham, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shippon Saddleworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Shippon Saddleworth to your Saves list