We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but Charming” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart Inn at Lydgate

Save Saved
You added The White Hart Inn at Lydgate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The White Hart Inn at Lydgate
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Stockport Road | Lydgate, Oldham OL4 4JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Oldham
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Tired but Charming”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We booked a twin room via Lastminute.com for half price (normally £127). At the reduced price I would probably have given it 4 stars. The room was generous enough but a little worn with mildew around the edges of the bath and furniture which looked as though it had seen better days (or shabby chic if you prefer). The beds were comfy (the best of any previous hotels, my wife claimed) but some extraneous nocturnal noises (plumbing?) might disturb the light sleeper.
The staff is attentive and courteous without exception. The prices for meals are fairly steep with breakfast coming in at just short of £15 per head. For the full price of the room, I would expect breakfast to be included!
We stayed for just one night and for the money we paid it was a good experience overall but considering the normal price is double what we paid...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    10
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
25
33
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We visited The White Hart today for the first time to celebrate my wife's birthday. The restaurant came highly recommended and it didn't disappoint. The service was second-to-none and the food was out of this world.

I enjoyed the venison while my wife had the fish and chips. Both were superbly presented, perfectly cooked from fresh and tasted wonderful.

I'm afraid I can't comment on this establishment as a hotel as we only visited the restaurant.

We will definitely be returning to eat again - and next time with more family members!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Overall we enjoyed our 2-night stay here; friendly staff, super bed and really nice breakfast. But for just shy of £130.00 a night the room was a bit below the standard I was expecting. Potentially a lovely room, but grubby walls, tatty paintwork, poor repairs and some furniture that was to my mind a bit below par. It by no means spoiled our stay, I just think that at the price things need to be sharper...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

The reason why it's called a 2-4-1 deal on the Monday nights is because you get 1 portion of food divided by 2 people. Don't go with an appetite! don't get me wrong the food is loverly and the folks on duty are real nice too but they kind of get the joke as well and both wine waiter and table waiter struggled to stifle a giggle when we suggested we may not be needing a doggy bag for the leftovers. Seriously though this restaurant is in T'Oldham lad, we never really allowed Nouvelle Quisine to take off this far North and the really Big couple of couples on the table next to us were definitely overheard "hitting t'kebab shop on way home",.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

have eaten here on several occasions, good food nice setting priced like a city centre fine dining venue, but this is a fine gastropub with food and service that can match up to the pricing structure , has a brasserie section , which is less formal and a formal dining room , and even has a private dining room which i once used for a birthday party and the venue made no extra charge for use of the room, all dishes are good ,place doesnt really have an achilles heal, menu is well writtten and thought out , has enough dishes on it for there to almost certainly be something to your taste without being one of those menus which are several pages long, which i tend to find are a great read which the kitchen cant follow up with good execution, some meals ive eaten here have been better than others, but i can honestly say ive never had a dissapointing one all in all very very good

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I stayed here for the night earlier this week and had a lovely stay. The room was clean, spacious and I loved the shower. I ate in the restaurant in the evening, and the food was excellent - especially the guinness ice-cream! Breakfast lovely and the staff friendly and welcoming. The only thing I would say is the bedroom was very warm, but I'm sure I could have resolved that had the bed not been soooooo comfortable that I couldn't be bothered to get up and either open the window or switch the fan on. Great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We had the Monday night 2 for 1 meal in the restaurant. I have to say this was excellent. The lobster risotto was gorgeous and the hake was to die for - the best I have ever had. Well done White Hart - on a par with Nutters in Norden which we love too! We went to the bangers and laughs night a couple of months ago too which was great - lovely to have a place like this as our local becasue we love good food!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CharlesBrierley, Manager at The White Hart Inn at Lydgate, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments.
Charles Brierley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The White Hart Inn at Lydgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Inn at Lydgate

Address: 51 Stockport Road | Lydgate, Oldham OL4 4JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The White Hart Inn at Lydgate 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your The White Hart Inn at Lydgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White Hart At Lydgate Hotel Oldham
The White Hart Inn At Lydgate Oldham, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart Inn at Lydgate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.