We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best night's sleep (almost) ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hollinwood Avenue, Oldham OL9 8DE, England (Formerly Bower Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Derbyshire, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best night's sleep (almost) ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Spent another night at the Victoria Hotel (formerly the Bower) a couple of Saturdays ago. Firstly, the refurb is looking really good and I know there are plans to go even further. The hotel was busy, so there was a good atmosphere. We had a great meal, with excellent service from AJ. But, nicest of all for me was the huge bed, with top quality bedding on it and lovely squishy pillows. All very important for me when staying in a hotel. I would definitely recommend The Victoria to friends, family and strangers on Trip Advisor alike!
(I've only scored Average for location because it depends on what you want from it. In terms of accessibility, its location is excellent in that it is straight of the motorway, and only a short ride on the metrolink into Manchester. In terms of surroundings, then the area isn't great, but the hotel grounds themselves are superb. So it depends on what you want from location)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    61
    21
    11
    14
See reviews for
46
46
10
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We went for afternoon tea, the staff were very friendly, the food was of a really high quality and tou could tell it was freshly prepared and not pre prepared. We couldn't finish it all but the staff were more than happy to box up the leftovers for us to take home. Would recommend to anyone and would definitely go back, probably try the restaurant next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here recently whilst attending Robbie Williams at the Etihad, only booked this hotel as it offered a family room for my 2 children and I, the room was a double and single bed, which was ok, I'd say this hotel is on par with premier inns, in that it offers the same comfort and cleanliness as them. It's not too far away from manchester, so was convenient for what we wanted, it has a restaurant, which looked ok, though we never used it. It has a car park on site too which is convenient. I would definitely stay here again wand would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is quite simply stunning, we were allowed to check in early as we were attending the Robbie gig on June 19th, There was a little wait for the room but we were kept comfortable and entertained, Head house keeper is brilliant and made our room available as soon as possible. The decor and warmth of the hotel was fantastic, Sleep quality was outstanding and didn't hear the motorway at all, We WILL be booking again to stay here and was worth every penny

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Such helpful and friendly staff. Would use again. Excellent location for concerts and shopping. Food was very good too. The lovely area outside was a bonus. A tram station near by saved driving in to the city.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have just spent an amazing weekend in Manchester for Robbie Williams concert. We were so pleased to be staying at The Victoria Hotel. All the staff were so friendly, room was immaculate, beds so comfy. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. We will definitely staying there again. On site parking was a big bonus for us also.

Room Tip: We had a family room one double and a single. It was excellent for us (3 adults).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I booked a room at the Victoria for a family wedding. My double room, 126, had a view of the back garden area and was a good size room. Large bed, good size of tv, plenty of storage space, bathroom and stuff for brews. The decor in the room and all round the hotel is really good. The full english breakfast which is £9.50 is a bit pricey but the fry up is cooked fresh and almost makes the cost worth it. Small let down is no wi-fi. My portable devices never found any signal at the hotel. One other thing that you need look out for. If you book a room and are with a wedding party you get a complimentary breakfast. For local people this is great, it saves money. But, like me and a few other guests at the wedding, if you have to travel over a long distance to get to the hotel, it sucks. I booked my room from the Victoria hotels website, because I didn't travel the distance and walk up to the front desk to book my room I had to pay for my breakfast. Apart from that it was a great stay. All the staff are really friendly, polite and happy to help.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Hollinwood Avenue, Oldham OL9 8DE, England (Formerly Bower Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bower Hotel Oldham
The Victoria Hotel Oldham, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.