We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of 247Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 247Hotel to your Saves list
247Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Manchester Street, Oldham OL8 4AS, England (Formerly Travelodge Oldham Manchester Street)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

plus points and minus points but overall would not stay here again

We booked a Quadruple room (double plus two singles) as we have two teenagers. On arrival we were told the singles were folded under the double bed and would need to be assembled - by us! I am on medication for my back and had just been driving for the last 7 hours so the receptionist said that on this occasion she could get the janitor to put the beds up but "it's not normal policy for us to put the beds up, that's just the way it is".

The room looked basic but clean, however the double bed and both bedside cabinets needed moving out of the way to get the singles beds out from underneath. The receptionist then offered us an "upgrade" - for an extra charge. We accepted as it meant we were moved to a suite with two rooms and the beds were already made up.

The two rooms were plenty big enough and had good size windows to let lots of light in. The beds were clean, the bathroom was clean, there were enough clean towels and extra pillows and there was a kettle, tea/coffee plus a tv in both rooms, though one remote. All plus points

Minus points
- The carpet did look hoovered but was very grubby looking and there was a large reddish stain in one area - we kept our socks on at all times.

- The curtains were stained with something. The main room could be seen into from the car park and was overlooked by plenty of other buildings but there were no net curtains so we kept the curtains closed at all times.

- The walls were grubby and marked.

- The heaters gave off a strange metallic smell, we didn't dare leave them on whilst we were out the room.

- No telephone in the room to contact reception

We put up with the above minus points and resolved not to stay there again, personal choice but I would have put the same review as I have just done as it wasn't absolutely awful.....

HOWEVER!

We cut our stay short and booked out a day early because as we were getting ready to go out for the day a MOUSE ran out from my shoes, through my daughters legs and then under the double bed!!!

When I told reception (same woman who booked us in) she just said matter of factly "oh, dear I'll have to call pest control". I said I wanted a refund so the receptionist called the manager - then came off the phone and promptly handed me one nights stay in cash.

The manager didn't come to see us and the receptionist didn't seem shocked by the situation so I can only presume that this has happened before.

We will definitely not being using this hotel again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for leaving a review. We are sorry about the minus points you experienced. We have a maintenance staff who has been going around repainting and ensuring all the facilities are working correctly. I apologise that the manager was unable to see you on the day, as they were tied up with prearranged commitments. At the first available moment she did however call out pest control to come out immediately. They came out the same day and ensured us that they have done more than enough to resolved the issue. Again I do apologise for the not so good experiences you had, and we will ensure that things are taken care of. We do hope to see you again and we will strive to ensure you have a better experience if you do stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    73
    28
    19
    37
See reviews for
40
52
11
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

My daughter stayed here as she was doing an induction at Oldham Hospital and needed a base before her flat was ready to move in to. We were greeted by a helpful member of staff when we checked in and she even asked if my daughter wanted a room nearer reception as she was on her own. She was happy to stay in the room which had been booked, which was spacious and clean. The bathroom was also large and there were tea and coffee making facilities plus free wifi. She ate there a few times and said they were good value although not fantastic. She said all the staff had been friendly and access to the hospital was straightforward. All in all a very good value hotel with friendly staff and clean rooms. She would definitely stay again and would recommend it to others.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for leaving a comment. It is much appreciated. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stay regularly here whilst working away from home. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped, I can see there is an ongoing upgrading of facilities over the time I have been staying here. The beds are clean and very comfortable. Food is available at unsociable hours and quite generous portions and tasty for bar food, and very cheap. Breakfast is also very generous and cheap. . The staff make it feel like a home from home and will go all out to make your stay comfortable and pleasant. There are two drawbacks only for me, sometimes the car park close to the entrance to the hotel is full, and I don't feel very comfortable walking in rain and dark to get to reception, and the other is that it can be noisy at times depending on which room you are allocated. If there is a problem the management will do their best to rectify it

Room Tip: Away from the reception as can be noisy when smokers outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Guest Relations Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for leaving a comment. Much appreciated. We loved having you and we will see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Excellent value for money
Easy road access, is you have Satnav.
Very helpful reception staff who heldped us to get our bearings
Good access to buses and tram to Manchester (bus is outside the hotel; tram is about 10 minutes walk)
Good value breakfast is available but we did not have this.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosneath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

rooms were basic but clean.staff really helpful. bit of a mission to get into car park as u have to pass it then turn round to gain entry. breakfast was a bit of a let down it costs £5 but the mushrooms were from a tin and the scrambled eggs were like rubber would be far better if they did waitress service rather than buffet style as it was total chaos, having said that id use this place again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We will assess the situation on how breakfast is served. Normally breakfast is served to order, but at busy times the buffet style may be used to allow quicker service. However we will look into all options that allow us to efficiently cater this area of the hotel. On this occasion I am sorry this has not met the expectations we would hope to deliver. We hope to see you again, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Check in was smooth. Rooms very basic , toilet didn't work plus seat was broken. Breakfast was a nightmare one member of staff cooking and serving , faulty towers looks professional compared to this hotel. The maids ignore the do not disturb sign they came into the room twice. No doubt the manager will reply with the same response that he has done with every complaint that has been made.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
I apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations. I will discuss the situation with the head house keeper to ensure this does not happen again. As well as ensuring the maintenance issues are taken care of. We do hope to see you again, and we will work on the issues you have raised to ensure a better stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here on Saturday 14th September 2013. We were greeted by a very helpful and pleasant woman at the reception, who ran up to our room to double check that everything was perfect and presented us with free biscuits. The room cost £29.00 and was very big. It was immaculately clean the bed was comfy enough. The room had plenty of storage space, a TV, a kettle with refreshments and a big bathroom and we didn't hear a sound from people next door, which can be a problem in a lot of hotels. We will definitely be staying again :-).

Room Tip: We stayed in room 308 :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James R, Manager at 247Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on tripadvisor we will ensure the staff are encouraged by your comments. We hope to see you again and we hope to improve the facilities to make your next stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 247Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 247Hotel

Address: Manchester Street, Oldham OL8 4AS, England (Formerly Travelodge Oldham Manchester Street)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Oldham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Oldham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — 247Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 247Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Oldham Manchester Street Hotel Oldham
247Hotel Oldham, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 247Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.