We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of the red lion hotel at hawkshaw

the red lion hotel at hawkshaw
Bury, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 225 Restaurants in Bury
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This is one of our local pubs and we have never had a bad meal. Unfortunately for a chain pub the food is surprisingly expensive. This means we only visit on special occasions. Well worth a visit.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c o, Manager at the red lion hotel at hawkshaw, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and that you do always enjoy your meals. I am sorry you feel we are expensive but all our food is fresh and cooked to order and we feel that our prices are very competitive in the area. Follow us on twitter @redlionbury for all our latest news.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    60
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful surroundings and hotel decor, food good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went to the red lion with the 25% voucher with friends. Lovely table and friendly staff. Was very busy so we expected a wait but it took an hour for our starters to arrive. They were very good though. Mains were a disappointment however.....I ordered the chicken strips and you could tell they had been sat under a hot plate for a while as there was a skin formed on the sauce and the plate was all sticky like it had dried up. The vegetables were extremely hard. I would like to try this restaurant again on a less busy day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c o, Manager at the red lion hotel at hawkshaw, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that on this occasion you weren't entirely satisfied. On the night in question we did get a very high volume of customers that weren't booked in all to use the 25% offer and therefore the sevice did suffer a little. I hope that this does not put you off visiting again and that on your next visit you make yourself known to me so that I can offer some sort of compensation to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The restaurant that never fails to deliver.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We had a fabulous lunch here on a cold, wintry lunchtime this week and were greeted with a warm welcome and excellent food. I received a fabulous offer of 25% off via e-mail and took full advantage by treating my parents and sister to a three course lunch that we all agreed was worth every penny. The quality of food here is second-to-none all fresh and cooked to order and definitly worth the wait ! There is something for everyone from freshly cut, imaginatively filled sandwiches to large steaks and fish dishes from the 'specials board'.all good value, however on this occasion unbelievable value due to the offer. Must mention the young men who waited on us with friendly, attentive professionalism - we couldn't have enjoyed ourselves more, .

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c o, Manager at the red lion hotel at hawkshaw, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
So glad to hear you enjoyed your visit so much and also made the most of our 25% offer. Dine with us in February and receive a £5 voucher for your next visit, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have been to this restaurant on a number of occassions now. The food quality is always very good and there is plenty of choice on the menu. The kitchen staff are on the ball here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c o, Manager at the red lion hotel at hawkshaw, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Follow us on twitter @redlionbury for all our latest news
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Have a fantastic lunch at the red lion this week. The staff were very friendly even as there were very busy, they still had a smile.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c o, Manager at the red lion hotel at hawkshaw, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review and lovely comments.
Follow us on Twitter @redlionbury for all our latest news.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the red lion hotel at hawkshaw also viewed

 
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to the red lion hotel at hawkshaw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the red lion hotel at hawkshaw, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.