We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD TIME HAD BY ALL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rostrevor Hotel

Rostrevor Hotel
Rostrevor Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rostrevor Hotel to your Saves list
Rostrevor Hotel
148, Manchester Road, Bury BL9 0TL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Bury B&B and Inns
Doncsster
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“GOOD TIME HAD BY ALL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed one night with bed and breakfast in October 2012. Excellent location walkable from Bury town centre opposite a municipal park. Hotel is two former large Edwardian / Victorian large semi-detached houses knocked into one which makes a change from the soulless Premier Inns and Travelodges. Rooms are comfortable with nice décor. Breakfast is excellent. Wins because of the small nice touches from owners such as coffee,tea and milk being refreshed each evening, quality box of hankies provided next to bed and good quality shower gel and shampoo provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
7
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Not sure what is the difference between a B&B and a hotel. We thought the Rostrevor (named after the town in Ireland, not Ros and Trevor!) offered hotel luxury and amenities at B&B prices. Very friendly, welcoming and comfortable, and with ample parking. Lovely breakfast - try the scrambled eggs. Thanks again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed at Rostrevor the last 2 nights and it was a relaxing place to stay.
Well positioned to the town centre of Bury.
The car parking at the back was a great asset also as we are traveling with 2 large vans.
The breakfast was lovely and filled us up for the day.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We stayed here last week and were made to feel so welcome. We arrived feeling exhausted and were served the most welcome Cuppa in a most relaxing lounge. Super property immaculately kept and spotlessly clean. We had a lovely twin room at the rear and were served a superb breakfast from an exhaustive menu. We shall return!

Room Tip: Our room was at the rear and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

i stayed here for 3 nights whilst on a training course, the first thing is ample parking to the rear of the property and a short cut through to the reception. i was greeted by peter who made me feel very welcome. i was pleasantly surprised by the period features of the wonderful Victorian property and how very clean the whole place is, my room 8 on the first floor was very nice with everything you would need, the room has tea and coffee making facilities that are topped up daily also a hair dryer, iron , alarm clock etc breakfast was served from 07:00 and what a good menu from a traditional English breakfast , kippers, eggs poached, fried, scrambled, fresh juice, grapefruit segments in fact a wide choice of food and all cooked to perfection. and nothing was to much trouble. a big thank you to peter and Michelle for making it feel like home.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

This place is nice and clean and I was surprised to be offered real kippers for breakfast.Really a treat.My stay in January coincided with a cold snap and oh! the cold! The large victorian sash windows were single glazed and sucked the heat out of the room. To be fair, the radiators were red hot but couldn't compete with those windows. There was an electric heater and when i asked, was supplied with an extra blanket. Just about sorted it.

Room Tip: Lots of traffic at the front so ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here for two nights with my elderly father while visiting his old friends in Bury. Very helpful and pleasant hosts. Rooms were clean and well appointed and breakfast was excellent. Close to Manchester transportation and shopping but still quiet enough to be restful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rostrevor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rostrevor Hotel

Address: 148, Manchester Road, Bury BL9 0TL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Bury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rostrevor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rostrevor Hotel Bury, Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rostrevor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.