We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the real thing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Viet Village

Viet Village
175 The Rock, Bury BL9 ONE, England
0161 7642214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 211 restaurants in Bury
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Just like the real thing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our first visit to Viet Village a few weeks ago was on a Saturday Night. Booking was not necessary and only a few other tables were occupied. However, as the dishes began arriving we soon realised our concerns, re the lack of other diners. were unfounded. One of the dishes was a shared seafood platter which amongst other items included some delicious soft crabs and if you haven't tried these they are delicious (you eat the whole thing). They were cooked in a light batter and served with a wonderful slightly spicy salad. The menu is quiet big and varied but all the dishes appeared to be freshly cooked .
Having enjoyed this experience we decided to re-visit this time mid afternoon on a Wednesday We took friends who live in London and dine out often in very good but usually expensive restaurants. They were astounded at the quality of the food and even more so by the value. One thing to note, as usual, the drinks will bump the bill up quite a bit i.e. probably by 50 per cent. The people of Bury are very lucky to have this restaurant on their doorstep.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    64
    28
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have lived in Bury for many years but never visited the Viet Village, however I will definitely be returning. A fabulous menu, loads of choice and a real culinary eperience. The staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and their advice on the food was invaluable. all in all an excellent place to eat and very good value for money. i will be recommending it to friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just went in by chance and we'll be definitely returning. The food was fresh and different to what we have had before. It's a little off the beaten track and doesn't look much from the outside but inside it is welcoming and the food delicious. Give it a try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Super lunch 2”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We visited Bury at the weekend and returned to the Viet Village for lunch. No playing safe this time we split three of the lunchtime specials between the two of us and were not disappointed. £15 for a blow out meal....
Don't be put off by the venue being empty as it was when we fist went in at 12 noon and don't be afraid to ask for what you want - be it extra food or drinks or the bill- the waiters tend to hang back until you ask for something - I guess this is down to cultural differences and ideas of what makes for good service.
The food itself is different to both Chinese and Thai - It's light and aromatic and bursting with fresh flavours - whatever you choose. If you go on a hot day, I can recommend the Vietnamese iced coffee to drink.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

enjoyed this restaurant last thursday went with nine women it wasnt busy at all and we wondered why but we had no worries when our food came it was lovely and plentiful the service was excellent and we all enjoyed our meals especially when the bill came and their was 30% off will defo be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viet Village also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Viet Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Viet Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.