We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well done all staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfold Business Park | Rochdale Road, Bury BL9 7BQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Bury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bury
cleveleys
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“well done all staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Arrived yesterday friday .6 dec ...stayed in room 172 , And still here till monday , food price res ,, breakfast was nice , room clean and tidy ,, swimming pool , Large to keep families happy ,, staff friendly ,, cant find fault , So well done all staff ..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the hotel as well as all the facilities.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    156
    132
    52
    38
See reviews for
71
150
15
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many, many times and in the past have found everything satisfactory.

However, we booked and paid in advance for one night as we were due to go out with friends for a Christmas event in Bury. The booking was made a few days before our expected stay.

On the morning of our stay we received a phone call from a receptionist to say that the hotel was fully booked and they could not accommodate us (even though we had a confirmed booking, had paid in advance and the payment had been taken from our account!).

Obviously we were extremely disappointed as the event we were going to was already booked. We asked to speak to someone in charge and over an hour later a duty manager rang us back. He explained that it was the hotel's booking policy to overbook and as we were among the last few people to book and there had been no cancellations, then they were unable to accommodate us!

We were offered a room at a Village hotel in Ashton (we live nearby in Oldham), or a Premier Inn at Prestwich. Obviously we declined these offers. When we mentioned that we had already booked a Christmas event at a venue in Bury he just repeated his offer of hotels in Ashton or Prestwich. We then asked for a refund of our money. What terrible customer service.

We will not be booking this hotel again any time soon! Be warned!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to add a review of your experience.

I am so sorry about the problems you encountered with your reservation. If you would like to speak to me directly please feel free to ring on 0871 222 4576.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Difficult to sum this up without an essay but some parts of the hotel (Swimming pool, bar, restaurant etc) are very good. The majority of the staff are extremely helpful and friendly although there were one or two exceptions which were not just bad but extremely rude. The hotel was (and is throughout December) hosting party nights. Basically there are LOTS of very drunk people around for these events which doesn't help when you have kids with you. Unfortunately the people that attend these events stay the night and therefore on both nights we stayed had a problem with drunkards shouting down the hallways outside our room. I would suggest giving this place a miss if there are any events on. The room was also not particularly clean and bathroom in need of replacement. Overall Poor but with some fairly inexpensive changes, weeding out the poor staff and better planning with allocating rooms this could be much better.

Room Tip: The lift is central in the building so best to stay as far away as possible. If there is an event on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay.

I am sorry there were some elements of your stay that you felt could have been improved upon. Having said that I am so pleased you were impressed with some of our facilities.

If you would like to discuss the problems you encountered in any more detail please feel free to contact me on 0871 222 4576.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

We have been to this hotel in the past and have always been very happy. Sadly this time it was not the case. As we walked in the hotel reception was dark and black till our eyes adjusted. Our room was equally dark and poorly lit with black shades to lamps, even the blinds were dark brown.
There was no wardrobe just hanging space and only one drawer for clothes. A hair dryer should have been in the drawer this was missing.
Downstairs the lounge area was extremely small for a hotel of this size and the couches and sofas were well worn, uncomfortable, and in need of replacement. We were meeting family in the Victory bar but had to sit in the lounge area as the bar was noisy with music and several tv's blaring.
Breakfast was in the Vinny and Vito restaurant the tables were covered in plastic red and white check tablecloths or the tables that were not covered were in need of refurbishment they were sticky from worn varnish. The selection of food was poor - no cheese or cold cuts and the food from the hotplate was cold.
There were no comments cards provided in the rooms, I did mention my concerns to reception to which the reply was that this hotel has been like this for some years.
Sadly I do not think I will be returning as the leisure facilities are excellent here the pool is a good size for swimming.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay.

I am so sorry that you didnt seem to enjoy your experience. If you would like to contact me to discuss any areas of your stay please feel free to contact me on 0871 222 4576

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a few times both upper deck and standard rooms and this was the worst stay I have experienced. On Check in there was no one on the desk when the receptionist appeared there was no friendliness all matter of fact and they didn't even advise or apologise for the pool being out of action there was just a notice at the end of reception desk. The room was ok but not great and the back of the fridge filthy covered in dust. I tried to get a drink at 11.55 and was batted between the pub and reception and even then no one seemed happy. Breakfast was awful I think it started at 7 and the food looked like it had been there since them I went down around 8,30 had to ask 3 times to get coffee that came in a teapot. On departure no checking if the stay had been ok nothing very clinical and for me probably the last time I would stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay.

I am so sorry that it appears you did not enjoy your experience at the hotel. If you would be willing to discuss any elements of your stay further please contact me on 0871 222 4576.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here for a 1 night stay in Upper deck. The rooms are modern with a comfortable bed. With plenty of pillows. Sky movies is a nice touch and I enjoyed watching Argo before bed. It's just a shame the Starbucks coffee is just instant. A nice bean to cup machine would be a nicer touch.

Reception clerks were friendly and the hotel had a nice buzz - mainly due to the gym and attached pub.

The Italian restaurant was lovely for a romantic meal - I was alone, but still felt very welcome. Lovely food with some of the best authentic garlic bread I have tasted.

Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Upper deck in my opinion is worth it for a cosy film in bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the UpperDeck room as well as the meal in Vinny & Vitos.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Booked 3 nights in Upper Deck room whilst visiting family. Nice clean rooms but'Starbucks in room' is just a worthless marketing scam - just branded instant coffee !

Why never again ? NOISE. On the first night we had 2 children left 'home alone' in the room above us. Until midnight they spent the time jumping off the bed and running up and down the room and slamming the drawers shut. The inter floor sound deadening is pretty much non existent. Then the drunken revellers moved out onto the terrace which is immediately below the Upper Deck rooms and proceeded to have lengthy and very loud episodes of shouting and laughing until 12:30.

Following morning we confirmed that the room above us was not vacating so were moved to another room, also away from the front terrace, so we were expecting a better night. WRONG - party night. The whole hotel reverberates with music, idiots running down the corridors banging very loudly on doors just topped off the worst stay in a hotel ever.

We will never stay here again and if you are expecting to get any sleep I would strongly suggest you book elsewhere.

A very disappointing experience.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carole H, General Manager at Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay.

I am so sorry it appears you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. If you would care to discuss this further please feel free to call me on 0871 222 4576.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury

Address: Waterfold Business Park | Rochdale Road, Bury BL9 7BQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Bury)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury is an ideal base for exploring the Pennines or for a relaxing family weekend. Shoppers will enjoy the Trafford Centre, and the famous Bury Market. You are also close to Manchester with its cosmopolitan array of attractions. Football enthusiasts could find it hard to miss a trip to Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury has 128 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.