We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury to your Saves list
Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfold Business Park | Rochdale Road, Bury BL9 7BQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Bury)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bury
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“first class service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just returned from a weekend package deal at this hotel for my sisters 60th birthday, there were 10 of us in five rooms they put us all next door to eachother which was great, the rooms were wonderful lots of modern decor with hairdryer and even an ironingboard/iron, we had a three course meal which was gorgeous followed by an evening of entertainment from a tribute band and a disco, we all had a fantastic night followed by a full english breakfast the next morning and full use of the leisure centre and swimming pool, all this for £57.50 per person the staff were so kind and helpful every one of them nothing was too much trouble for them. we all enjoyed it and cant wait to stay there again thankyou to all of you and keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    145
    121
    44
    33
See reviews for
63
137
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just return from a 2night break in this hotel. Great place to relax and enjoy the atmosphere of the hotel. We had meal in the Italian restaurant the first night which was gorgeous. Alcohol slightly higher than last year when we stayed but its to be expected. Only don side if I was to nit pick was the toaster of a morning u have to put the bread in twice before it goes brown. This is a pain more so when it's busy. Other than that all I can say is WE WILL B BK!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Make no mistake this hotel qualifies as a 4* hotel and has everything it needs for the grading. But only just. The rooms are just big enough. The facilities are just OK. There is soap in the rooms, but just enough. Its OK as a business hotel, with free wifi and a passable restaurant (with an OK but not "WOW" breakfast buffet). And to be fair the leisure club and pool are very nice and well equipped.

Note for disabled visitors - like all Village hotels there is a huge flight of stairs at the front with a very pokey lift around the corner (which you will need to use if you have a lot of luggage anyway). We had a disabled room (quite by chance) with extra wide door and accessible bathroom. OK but not the best I have ever seen.

Finally, this particular Village has cornered the Bury market for Hen nights and low cost package weddings. Over the weekend we were there there were at least 3. If you are looking for a quiet break - this will probably not be your venue of choice.

On the upside the hotel is well priced for North Manchester and it is only a 10 minute drive into Prestwich and a further 10 from there to the City Centre and very convenient for getting to the Peaks, Dales and even the lake District (just 90 minutes when we did it).

Just dont expect a classy hotel. It is 4* and good value, but only just

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel recently. I found the reception area nice and modern and the reception staff pleasant enough. The room I stayed in was very dark, and had to always keep the lights on. The window in the room was situated above a flat roof - along with the other rooms on the same level. This meant that I felt unsafe to leave my bedroom window open during the night, as it would have been accessible for someone to enter the room through the window should they wish.

The evening food was lovely, cooked very nicely and was also impressed with the breakfast - even though there appeared to be no order and lots of hungry guests!

Would stay again, but would not like to pay more money than what I paid.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Booked this really last minute and principally on the price. We were looking to get away near Manchester and this seemed like a good deal.

Needed communicating rooms as the kids had their own room and after a couple of calls direct to the hotel the ultra helpful lady on reception secured this for us.

Arrived at the hotel 8pm on the Sat night. It is a busy hotel and there were two weddings on so the bar was busy as was the reception area. We booked into the Italian themed restaurant for dinner. Again busy, but after 15 mins (were told it would be 20) we were seated and had menus. Food pretty good and service OK.

Our rooms were 266 & 264. These are 'family' rooms which basically means you get a double bed and a settee that converts to a double. Rooms fine, decor perhaps on it's way to becoming tired but OK.

Buffet breakfast next day with good selection of hot and reasonable selection of cold options. Sometimes a bit of a delay by the coffee machine. In the evening we went to the pub next door just for a change.

Had a swim next morning. Huge pool and what looked to be OK leisure facilities although didn't try them.

On balance we had great value for the price we paid (got one room for £69 and the other for £85 incl. breakfast, a Premier Inn might cost you that!

Hotel is busy so it's not really somewhere for a relaxing romantic break. All staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Would go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Very nice stay emailed them as going to funeral gave us nice room at back off hotel very clean staff very friendly but have to agree gone a dirty cleaning standards not good in rest off hotel dinning area not clean and tables in side Lounge area nit cleaned just cleaning issues letting hotel down

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

we spent a week - end here for a 60th birthday, we was given a room at the back of the hotel (173) which suited us fine , a pain to find (up a floor in one lift ,along a long corridor then down 2 floors in another lift.) but was worth the messing . the room was spotless , very large and comfy ,beautiful view from room and very , very quiet. Breakfast on saturday morning was excellent , the staff very helpful...Sunday morning the hotel seemed very busy and a bit cramped in the dining area .but you could still get a decent breakfast. we would stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: rooms at the back of the hotel are best for a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury

Address: Waterfold Business Park | Rochdale Road, Bury BL9 7BQ, England (Formerly De Vere Village Manchester Bury)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Bury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Bury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury 3.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury is an ideal base for exploring the Pennines or for a relaxing family weekend. Shoppers will enjoy the Trafford Centre, and the famous Bury Market. You are also close to Manchester with its cosmopolitan array of attractions. Football enthusiasts could find it hard to miss a trip to Manchester United and Manchester City football grounds. Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury has 128 stylish bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, an Urban Spa, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury Greater Manchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Urban Resort Manchester Bury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.