We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, awkward atmosphere and very uninterested staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Asha

Asha
292 Tottington Road, Bury, England
0161 763 3037
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 211 restaurants in Bury
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Restaurant and delivery kitchen.
Bolton
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice food, awkward atmosphere and very uninterested staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited here in on a Monday evening in July, for my partners birthday, and chose here based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. Our experience was very different than that of others.

When we arrived there were only two other diners, who finished their meal shortly after our arrival. We were not given a warm welcome at all by staff. When we sat at our table, there was no sign of the midweek deal menu, so I asked if it was on. I was met with a grunt before the waiter went to get it, clearly not happy about this request and very rude in manner.

Throughout the meal the two staff on hand were totally uninterested in us as customers, and looked fed up throughout. The whole atmosphere was uncomfortable and awkward, which is a shame as the food was lovely. In fact, as we were leaving I told the man in charge it was the best chicken samber I had eaten, he ignored me and walked off into the kitchen without any reply.

Deliscious food, awkward atmosphere, ignorant bored staff, will not be rushing back which is a shame.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    51
    11
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“brilliant food once again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

booked the restaurant for 24 guests including children. The choice and quality of the food as always was excellent the service and friendliness of the staff and their patience with us was second to none even going the extra mile to cook roast chicken and fresh chips for one of the guests who only eats English food. never disappoints and is very reasonable priced the best indian in this area

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“let down again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

After being loyal customers. we are sat staring at our food that we cant eat due to the nann bread not turning up with the order... after phoning we was told 15 mins!! this was without an apology for the mix up and they hung up... its now been 40 mins!! and we are still waiting for the bread to arrive this is the only thing our child will eat so have to wait so we can eat as a family. after phoning again and getting no apology i am sat feeling let down, we order from asha's far to much as its lovely but this lack of attention to customer service has left us no longer wishing to order. if you have loyal customers LOOK AFTER THEM!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Always great food and really reasonable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Ill always come back to Asha be it for a sit down or a takeaway. Lovely choice of dishes and friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bury
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best indian food in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have been dining at Asha since it opened and have never been disappointed. Excellent food and service at reasonable prices. Also a very efficient delivery service with the same high standards of food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asha also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Asha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.