We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid under all circumstances” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Swan & Cemetery

Swan & Cemetery
406 Manchester Road, Bury BL9 9NS, England
0161 764 1508
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #65 of 211 restaurants in Bury
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Wetherby
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Avoid under all circumstances”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My wife and I took a good friend here for Sunday lunch with high expectation given some of the reviews presnted here. The only question is was it the same place? The surroundings were of a reasonable standard, the service frenetic and disorganised and the food very poor given the prices paid with the roasts probably cooked in a bag! I struggle to say anything good about this establishment and it is only a shame there is not a zero rating.

Needless to say I will not be returning.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    90
    37
    12
    9
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Shame about the manager”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Nice pub just a shame about the manager , we had an issue we wanted to discuss with him and he was arrogant and rude

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“dreadful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

tried this restaurant 3 times now and each time its got worse wont be going again went with 6 friends one had hair in salad one had cold soup one had cold coffee need i go on

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

This place does great Sunday lunches. Great value for monday. And whilst the serivice was unmemorable, it wasnt 'bad' and it certainly wouldnt stop me going there again. Also, the dining room is a great place to eat in on a sunny day

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dependable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Always to be relied on for a good honest meal at a reasonable price. Varied menu always well presented. Staff very pleasant and helpful

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan & Cemetery also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Swan & Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan & Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.