We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Automatic Cafe

Automatic Cafe
Derby Hall | Market Street, Bury, England
0161 763 9399
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Automatic Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 222 Restaurants in Bury
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, British, Contemporary, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food & Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

A very warm friendly welcome. Once seated a large bottle of tap water was quickly brought together with glasses full of ice and a slice of lemon. We could not decide which white wine to have so they brought us a sample of both to taste. We decided on a 500ml carafe of the Chenin Blanc which had lots of flavour and was very reasonably priced. We started with the Eastern Share board which was excellent and contained a great selection of tasty treats. Followed by Mexican Chicken Salad and Sea Bass with Noodles which contained lots of Oyster mushrooms. Both were delicious the chips were excellent. All the food was beautifully cooked using fresh ingredients and served by very friendly and helpful staff. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and will be back soon. Automatic Cafe has a great selection of drinks and food at very reasonable prices, so it's a place worth visiting at any time of the day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    63
    27
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food but appearances falter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I Visited on Saturday 13th for a quick bite after shopping and wasnt disappointed by my food choice. Tasted great and well presented. Shame I cant say the same about the flame haired waitress who came to us in a skirt that was far too short, which bearly covered her modesty in fact her apron was longer than said garment which is a shame for a normally well presented restaurant .
I understand that it was hot yesterday and we all like to be cool but others were dressed more appropriately.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Automatic Five Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Went to Automatic last night for the first time... and loved it. We didn't book, but were shown a table and advised we had 2 1/2 hours until the next diners arrived.
We ordered the Spanish Sharing Platter, which was excellent - very tasty (prob a bit more smoked paprika in the Patatas Bravas - but that's just my taste!). The food was beautifully presented and arrived quickly. We followed this with Fish and Chips (massive and so tasty!) and Southern Fried Chicken (again, beautiful... More BBQ def needed though!)
The service was quick and friendly, and we even has time for dessert! (peanut butter sundae... FOOF!)
Highly Recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

went last night for tea for four of us. Table was pre-booked no problem. The beers are great, especially thae cask ales they have. Fish and chips is brilliant, burgers are good although my friend thought the relish wasnt that good (minor point) service ws a bit like waiting for a bus, you wait 10 minutes then three come at once. Food is fresh and sensibly priced. No complaint really and as it is next door to The Met theatre its very convenient. If you havent been its worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nelson
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Enjoyed my visit here. Good food, good service. Only downside is the noise from other diners -there is nothing to absorb the happy chatter. However would still visit again, the menu being comprehensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Automatic Cafe also viewed

Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Automatic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Automatic Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.