We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pool House Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton upon Severn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pool House Retreat
Save
You added Pool House Retreat to your Saves list
Hanley Road, Upton upon Severn WR8 0PA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Solihull
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Pool House as an add on to a spa day at Serenity Rose Spa. It is a truly lovely setting in beautiful grounds all maintained by the owner which is clearly a labour of love. The house is worth a look around as all furniture is in keeping with the period of the building and creates a welcoming and comfortable atmosphere. Our room with full four poster bed was a treat and we couldn't fault anything. Breakfast was served in a gorgeous dinning room and plenty of choice. We were made to feel welcome and anything we needed was taken care of with a smile. Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glos
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Pool House retreat as part of a Spa package at the Serenity Rose Spa which is in the grounds. This is very unusual accommodation, in a lovely location with lawns going down to the River Severn. There are only four rooms (they call them 'suites' ) we stayed in the Colonial, which had views over their garden, rather than the river. It was a lovely, light and airy room.
In fact I would give this 3 and a half stars for 'good' , in between 'average' or 'very good'.
It is lovely and comfortable and well furnished and decorated. There were a couple of little touches missing, however. For example, when we arrived, a lady in an apron approached us and said hello and she and a man took us up to our room - no introductions! We later found out they were the owners, and only learned their names from the people at the Spa. Also, there are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room. We were told that these were available 'on demand' but that can feel a bit awkward in the evening, or first thing in the morning. Our advice would be to put facilities in the room. Also, when we did order tea - no biscuits! This is definitely the kind of place where we would expect a couple of home-made shortbread, or similar. Having said this, would definitely recommend it as a distinctive individual place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Having left it late to book anywhere for the weekend, we chanced upon this place whilst trawling through internet search tools. Ideally, we wanted three rooms in the same house, within walking distance of Upton. We didn't know that the Three Counties show was being held in nearby Malvern on the same weekend, so B&B accommodation was difficult to find.
This place, however, isn't difficult to find at all. Right by the river and a few minutes walk from the town centre, The Pool House is set back from the road and surrounded by gardens with ample parking in the grounds. The house itself is spectacular. An 18th century farmhouse filled with a mixture of original features and modern convenience, it is an impressive building which has clearly taken a lot of thought and effort to get right. The rooms are magnificent. All are en suite, and all manage to have a character of their own. The pictures provided on this page by the management don't really do them justice. We were served tea and coffee in the drawing room on arrival, and the owners were on hand to suggest places to visit during our stay.
The breakfast, served at a time to suit us, was great. Local produce (the eggs were from the chickens in the garden) and plenty of it.
Only two points raised an eyebrow for me, and that's probably because I'm a city boy unused to the more sedate pace of rural living.
1. There are no front door keys. The owners wait up for everyone to come in and then lock up. I understand that this is their preference, but we were in the local pubs until about 1am which meant they had something of a long day. It could have been worse for them as we had toyed with the idea of going to the bright lights of nearby Tewkesbury as we were finding it difficult to find a place to get a decent dinner in Upton.
2. There are no keys for the rooms. This was a concern as, although we had taken three of the four rooms, the fourth was occupied by people unknown to us. It was possible to secure the door from the inside, but the room was unlocked while we were out.
I'm not going to let these points take away from the overall experience though.
Did we enjoy our stay? Very much.
Would I stay there again? Definitely.
Would I recommend it to friends? Without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just returned from a stay at The Pool House for our anniversary. The weekend was booked as a combination with the Serenity Rose spa within the grounds and was ideal. The spa day was great; a nice relaxing pace, attentive staff and the ideal way to start the weekend. We then retreated to the Pool House where we stayed in The Oak Suite. A lovely large room (ensuite almost as big) with views from the window overlooking the river Severn which flows through the grounds and rolling countryside beyond. We woke up to sunshine through the large windows and eventually went downstairs for a relaxed breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts who were friendly and easy-going. We'd definitely recommend and book again, great value. Upton upon Severn has plenty of pubs and restaurants. We ate at The White Lion where the food was very good and had drinks in The Boathouse on their upstairs balcony overlooking the river with a view out to the Malvern hills.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stratford on avon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here by chance following a "girls' day out" at the nearby Serenity Rose Spa and couldn't have been more delighted

The rooms were stylish and spotless and the location was idyllic

Our hosts were extremely welcoming and created a warm and relaxed atmosphere throughout our stay - nothing was too much trouble

Breakfast was delicious and the eggs - from the family's own chickens - could not have been fresher.

An accidental find but one to which we've all pledged to return

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We chose to stay here as a base to explore the Malverns and having seen the website we were very excited about booking. What we experienced far exceeded our expectations, not only was the room fantastic, it is a delightful house with an amazing dining room where you get to enjoy a delicious breakfast - cooked by the real stars of the show, the hosts. Tia & Steve went out of their way to make us feel really welcome, nothing was too much trouble, and Steve's walking tips made for a really great day out. Tia's scones were excellent too! If you want a place to enjoy the Malverns which just happens to have a lovely spa next door, you can't beat this.

Room Tip: The colonial room is nice and spacious with a sumptious bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The best b&b we've ever stayed in, can't fault it, from the luxury rooms to the riverside location to the excellent service and breakfast. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend the spa as well.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pool House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pool House Retreat

Address: Hanley Road, Upton upon Severn WR8 0PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Upton upon Severn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Upton upon Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Queen Anne Country House beside the banks of the River Severn. All rooms feature four-poster beds and ensuite bath and shower. Why not have afternoon tea on the lawn or pamper yourself at our on-site Spa. A short walk from the town of Upton and close to the wonderful Malvern hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pool House Retreat Upton Upon Severn, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pool House Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.