We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pool House Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Upton upon Severn
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pool House Retreat
Save
You added Pool House Retreat to your Saves list
Hanley Road, Upton upon Severn WR8 0PA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon. Tia let us arrive early and take some wedding pictures on the picturesque grounds. We stayed in the bridal suite and had rose petals, champagne on ice and chocolates awaiting our arrival (which was admittedly rather late as the reception went on well into the night - not a problem as someone kidly waited up for us though). Fry up in the morning was delicious too! Only criticism is that there wasnt a clock in our room, and without our phones on us, we had to go down to the grandfather clock in the downstairs hall at six in the morning to find the time. Overall a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
31
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We consider ourselves regulars here now and are never disappointed. The rooms are superb, the breakfast delicious, and the massages excellent. We are always made to feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

stayed here for a friends wedding, the grounds are beautifully presented and the rooms are better than the photos. comfy beds, lovely big bath. Breakfast was a good range of fresh foods, they grow their own veg and have chickens in the garden. The owners are friendly and accomodating, and the free masage at the spa is a most welcome bonus! highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

My husband stayed here whilst he was working at the Malvern showground, and myself and my two young children joined him for a night- the house is simply beautiful - such comfortable beds, huge rooms, great views of the river, lovely breakfast- and the most memorable element is the exceptional welcome from the hosts, Tia was amazing and so kind, nothing was too much trouble- my children absolutely loved finding the freshly laid hens eggs and enjoyed them for supper when we got home! it's a perfect house for a group of 8 people to hire for the whole weekend, such a treat to stay somewhere so special and very reasonably priced too. my advice is don't hesitate to book a stay here, doubt anywhere around the area is as welcoming and provides such fantastic accomodation for the price.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

We stayed at the Pool House Retreat for one night as we were attending a party in the next village. The house is set in beautiful surroundings and Tia & Steve are extremely gracious hosts and very welcoming. We stayed in the Colonnial Suite which was spacious and beautifully decorated. The bed was king size and comfortable. The rooms and House were spotless and we cannot believe that Tia and Steve are able to keep cream carpets looking like they are new. Altough there are not tea and coffee making facilities in the room, this is on demand and is bought to the room whenever you want. The back massage which is part of the package price was lovely.

We were meeting friends in Upton before going to the party and Steve very kindly drove us to the hotel, he also offered to collect us from the next village at the end of our party if we were unable to get a taxi, it is these little extras that make all the difference. The breakfast catered for all tastes, was fresh and could not be faulted. We would recommend the Pool House without hesitation and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

A whole group of friends, with little ones and big ones, all hired the house for the weekend. What an absolute gem of a find. Within close proximity of the town, we found we could walk from the B&B into town (Though would not recommend on many glasses of wine, as it is dark.)
Our hosts were warm and welcoming to all the madness and chaos that we brought in, but so friendly and helpful at all times. We loved the spa treatment that was included and the fresh afternoon tea was AMAZING! What a great stay, beautiful beautiful bedrooms, so luxurious.
For a great weekend for all, little ones, middle ones and big ones, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

A wonderful stay at a delightful location for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. A building of superb character in a great location. Our room was beautiful and the service was attentive but not intrusive. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pool House Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pool House Retreat

Address: Hanley Road, Upton upon Severn WR8 0PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Upton upon Severn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Upton upon Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Queen Anne Country House beside the banks of the River Severn. All rooms feature four-poster beds and ensuite bath and shower. Why not have afternoon tea on the lawn or pamper yourself at our on-site Spa. A short walk from the town of Upton and close to the wonderful Malvern hills. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pool House Retreat Upton Upon Severn, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pool House Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.