We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterside, Upton upon Severn WR8 0JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We arrived at the Swan after a drive around that saw us in Upton on Severn, we decided to stay the night on the 'spur of the moment'. We're very glad we did!! It's a fab hotel, the room was lovely and clean, shower gel provided, soft clean towels and a comfy bed!! Breakfast is cooked fresh to order and arrives nice and hot and is so filling we haven't bothered with lunch!!! If we ever find ourselves in the area again we will stay again, I think a lot of the bigger hotels could learn a lot from the couple that run the Swan!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
28
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Hot evening, by the waterside, under a shade, with good pub food, what more could you need, except a decent pint of cold beerand that is here too. It is all at the Swan, and very reasonable prices as well. Welcoming and helpful staff and prompt service. A great riverside pub. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

realising we had no kids for the night, decided after dinner on fri night to have a night away in a hotel by a river - 20 mins later we were on our way to The Swan! Met by Ralph and later met his wife, Sue. Room was very clean and comfortable and had a lovely view down the river. Despite windows being open all night due to one of the hottest night's of the year, there was no noise whatsoever from outside. Service was excellent and breakfast was great. We'll be back. Thank you. Trevor and Liz

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have been here a few times recently as it's a great place to visit in good weather! Thankfully the Swan is not a gastropub.Our experience has been different to some of the reviews here.We have enjoyed good service with basic food which is served hot and fresh and offers excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

A pity about the food! The chilli was quite unpleasant...gristly and fatty meat, rice acceptable, salad garnish warm and wilting. Without any doubt, the cod fillet was the thinnest we have ever seen, and was surrounded by soft, soggy batter. Chips were acceptable, and a good sized portion. In the establshment's favour, the waitress did express concern when she saw I had eaten very little chilli, and asked us whether we wished to alert the chef. We chose not to...perhaps we should have done. We shall not eat there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Had a simple pub lunch with family here and thoroughly enjoyed it. The food was well presented, reasonably priced and good quality. Setting, right by the banks of the river Severn, was very picturesque. Best thing was the service, very polite and friendly. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed after brother-in-law's birthday bash. Good size room with comfy bed. Very clean. Extremely hearty full English breakfast. Affable hosts and no raised eyebrow at two gentlemen sharing (which is as it should be of course, but remember this is Tory Middle England)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: Waterside, Upton upon Severn WR8 0JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Upton upon Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton upon Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quaint English town of Upton upon Severn, The Swan Hotel with its stunning riverside setting warmly welcomes you to take a break in the beautiful Worcestershire countryside. The 17th Century building offers a tranquil retreat from 21st Century living, with cosy en-suite rooms that combine character and charm with modern day functionality. The Swan Hotel prides itself on it traditional pub cuisine and selection of cask conditioned ales. Centrally located in the Heart of England, The Swan Hotel is an ideal base for both business and pleasure with easy access to the motorway network and the Three Counties Showground, Malvern, Worcester and Tewkesbury all within a 10 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Upton Upon Severn, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.