We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steve and Laura from Stockport had a wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Swan Hotel to your Saves list
Swan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterside, Upton upon Severn WR8 0JD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Steve and Laura from Stockport had a wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We arrived at The Swan Tuesday afternoon 30th October and we were greeted very warmly indeed. our room was beautiful so clean and very spacious. we had a view of the river which was a real treat. on going down to breakfast we were again greeted warmly and our breakfast arrived very promptly. it was amazing, so perfectly cooked, hot and very generous portions. I personally can honestly say this is one of the very best hotels in England Ive ever stayed in and would not hesitate to book again, Ralph and Sue you are stars thank you for five of the loveliest days weve had in a long time and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
34
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We arrived late afternoon and had a warm welcome from the landlady (sorry don't know any names) The Swan is right next to the river and following the makeover after the floods there are now tables riverside we enjoyed tea & cake which was just what we needed & very nice. Our room was no 2 & it has the most beautiful view down the river I could have stayed for a week not just one night! only down side no shower but I knew that when I booked (only room left) so not complaining.WE were of to the see the Gardening show at Malvern the next day , I asked what time breakfast was & was told 9am to 10am on Sundays O dear we said won't be able to have breakfast as show starts at 9am the immediate response was we will do it for 8 am I have never stayed anywhere so helpful as this establishment.mine host cooked a full English breakfast it was good. (friuit & yogurt would be a nice addition to the menu.) WE didn't have dinner at the Swan so can't comment on this . The atmosphere was like visiting friends & I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Book a room with a river view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We went for a snack and whilst the surroundings were average the food was not. We both had jacket potatoes with fillings but they were tasteless particularly the cheese and beans whichwere tepid and the consistency of slop. The menu also needs more variety

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Good hosts, great food, nice location unless river is in flood(this is much better since renovations have been carried out). Rooms are large and comfy, very clean and afford some great views of the river. A real home from home type of welcome and we will certainly use again. I'm sure you will not be disappointed.

Stayed October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

There is a very limited menu, of which two items were not available. Service was quick and the food was hot, but pretty bland, especially the fish.

Only two puddling so choose from plus ice cream, so we went home and had cheese and biscuits.

I would not go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Really nice pub with 5 rooms I believe. We got the room with the bath and fantastic views of the river. Ralph and his wife are great hosts and make you feel at home. The room was clean and comfortable and we slept well. The breakfast is "MASSIVE" so prepare yourself for it. All the ingredients were good quality and cooked to perfection.
Upton itself is a lovely locatation and we did a bit of a pub crawl and found the locals really friendly and we sparked up conversations in every pub.

Parking is tricky there is none at the pub so you may need to drive around a couple of times, but the hotel is well worth the wait

Room Tip: Room 2 is great but if you want a shower pick room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Just had an extremely poor meal at this establishment. We ordered towards the end of service (though there was still 20 minutes left) and you could really tell! The scampi and chips were overcooked ( microwaved to within an inch of their lives I suspect), The peas were raw and the chips like bullets. Cheap and cheerful pub grub does not have to mean inedible. I have eaten in many pub/restaurants that have given excellent value for money. When asked the obligatory question if I had enjoyed the meal, the waitress seemed quite taken aback by my polite honesty.Needless to say, as a local I will not be eating there again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swan Hotel

Address: Waterside, Upton upon Severn WR8 0JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Upton upon Severn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Upton upon Severn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the quaint English town of Upton upon Severn, The Swan Hotel with its stunning riverside setting warmly welcomes you to take a break in the beautiful Worcestershire countryside. The 17th Century building offers a tranquil retreat from 21st Century living, with cosy en-suite rooms that combine character and charm with modern day functionality. The Swan Hotel prides itself on it traditional pub cuisine and selection of cask conditioned ales. Centrally located in the Heart of England, The Swan Hotel is an ideal base for both business and pleasure with easy access to the motorway network and the Three Counties Showground, Malvern, Worcester and Tewkesbury all within a 10 mile radius. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Upton Upon Severn, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.