We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not fault the whole experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Country

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Golden Country
13-14 High Street, Stourport on Severn, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: 13-14 High Street, Stourport-on-Severn, Worcestershire, DY13 8BP Telephone 01299 878790
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Could not fault the whole experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A four course meal that's prepared fresh to order for £15 p.p in a restaurant that's spotlessly clean and complimented with staff that are, if anything, slightly over-attentive.There has to be a catch I thought.

Whilst we were checking out the menu a basket of warm prawn crackers were awaiting our demolition.To start with was a nice selection of dim-sum including pork ribs, satay chicken, sticky wings, battered crabsticks, prawn toasts and house made crispy won ton all beautifully presented on a large garnished platter. All were exquisite and very tasty.This was followed by very generously filled lettuce cups (yuk sung) or duck with pancakes etc (duck £1p.p supp).
After a self-inflicted ten minute break four very hot freshly prepared dishes arrived which you can choose yourself from chicken,pork,beef,king prawns (prawns £2 supplement..worth it) in sauces that you decide, from a selection of twelve. We opted for beef cantonese style, s&s chicken, pork rendang and king prawns in ginger with spring onion with fried rice, noodles and chips or boiled rice.All finished quite unnecessarily with a sweet treat of banana fritters or vanilla ice cream. How and where we fitted the dessert in our very full tummies baffles me even now !

The soft drinks were reasonably priced at £2.40 a pint and Tsing Tao beer at £2.90 a bottle.Pizza hut charge £3.45 for Peroni which isn't as nice as Tsing Tao. We arrived at 6.30 on a Friday evening and there were only a dozen customers in when we left which was completely mind-boggling.

A great value, well-cooked, nicely presented and balanced four course meal which was complimented by very friendly and extremely efficient staff. At £15 per head with £4 in supplements for duck pancakes and king prawns and sensibly priced drinks our bill was £65 for three adults including two rounds of drinks.

Forget the ''all you can eat buffets'' where the service is non-existent, the food stews under their spotlights and you feel like a member of a herd of cattle, try this new-style set priced eating experience for the more discerning restaurant goer with a fussier palate.

My thanks to everybody at The Golden Country for a splendid evening and Congratulations on being brilliant !!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    19
    9
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value, Good food, Good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Been here a couple of times and its a hidden gem! Although from the outside it looks like a small takeaway. Its a lovely little restaurant. Every time we have been here the service has always been excellent!
You can order of the main menu or order from a £15 four course menu which is excellent value for the food you are given. The food tasted very good and this is the only eat in Chinese i would go to in the local area!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs
1 review
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Thank you so much to everyone at the Golden Country for a really brilliant meal and wonderful evening celebrating my husband's birthday last night. The staff were so helpful, food was amazing and we couldn't have had a better evening. Thoroughly recommend this restaurant.
The Moule family.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

A friend of mine recommended golden country restaurant to me and I went there last week.The food was okay but to be honest I didn't like the service at all. We bought a bottle of red wine and the staff kept coming to our table to pour the wine to the glasses without asking us, we did't like it at all but we didn't say anything until the staff poured last drop of the wine then asked us if we need another bottle. That was very annoying! I realised they just try to sell more wine in the end! I don't think I will go back to this restaurant again!!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport-on-Severn
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We use this place for a take away and go to the restaurant. The staff are so helpful and you are made to feel special and nothing is to much trouble. Old fashioned service, so hard to find these days so a pleasure to find in such a lovely place to eat. The food is always very good, with a few different dishes in the restaurant. The Buffet set menu is fab with loads to eat. Because we are fussy about starters they are very happy to change some round for us, you could not ask for more. We have had a few get togethers for Birthdays and they have always been helpful. All the friends we have taken have loved it. Our friends from Bromsgrove come over just to go to this place as they also love it so much.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Country also viewed

Stourport on Severn, Worcestershire
Stourport on Severn, Worcestershire
 
Stourport on Severn, Worcestershire
Stourport on Severn, Worcestershire
 

Been to Golden Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.