We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit lived up to expectation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Hewell Rd | Enfield, Redditch B97 6AE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Cardiff
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Return visit lived up to expectation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for an overnight stay having done the same last year, and once again had a great stay. Spacious family room (with double bed, double pull out bed and room to squeeze in a travel cot), with good shower (although the children would have preferred a bath).

Lat time we brougt a take away back to the room, but this time with the fine weather we all ventured out up into the town centre. Plenty of choices for places to eat in less than 5 mins walk including pubs to the left and right of the hotel, and fish and chips, chinese takeaway, eat-in (with bring your own beer) or take away Indian, and pizzas etc. However we settlet on the very spacious and nice an cool Lloyds Bar as they welcomed childen until 9pm. Had good meals and the childrens meals at £3.99 were very large and equally as good.

Breakfast on the Sunday was busy, but we were early enough to get a table without a delay. Great choice given the minimal room, with food replenished pretty quickly. The minimal staff worked well to ensure there was plenty of food and clear the tables for a quich turn-around.

Will certainly stay here again as a similar trip is planned for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    133
    30
    6
    12
See reviews for
99
101
14
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Sort-of accidentally booked this place at the last minute - I was actually aiming for the Premier Inn but somehow hit the wrong button. I hadn't actually read any of the reviews of this place, but have since. It's well worth bearing in mind the management responses to the negative reviews - they are convincing in their rebuttals of the negative reviews.

From personal experience, we stayed one night last night (13th July 2013) here, and it was spot-on. Not expensive, plenty of parking, clean, cheery and quiet. Exactly what I'd have hoped for. Breakfast was quite good, although some people had to wait a bit to get theirs as it was very busy. The hotel had put up signs the previous day to warn guests of this likelihood due to full occupancy.

Anyway, top hotel and well worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stay at alot of Holiday Inn Expresses in the U.S. When we did a 2 week trip around the U.K. we stayed in Holiday Inns & Expresses using points (a total of 9 different hotels). Redditch was by far the closest to what we've come to expect in the U.S. HIExpresses: professional staff, new / updated facilities, great breakfast, modern in amenities. We had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked here having read some excellent reviews. The staff were, as others have found, friendly and courteous. However, we had 2 problems during our 2-night stay:

1) We left our room after the first night at just before 11am the next morning. We had left a 'do not disturb' sign on the door when we went down to breakfast but we took that off the door when we left. As we headed to the lift there were two cleaning trolleys, one either side of our room, with staff working in various rooms along our corridor.

When we returned later that afternoon we found our room had not been cleaned or the bed made, and there was a plastic bag outside the door containing a few towels and some drink sachets. The receptionist told me the domestic manager had gone home so we ended up making our own bed and swapping the dirty towels for clean ones ourselves.

2) We ate in the hotel restaurant that evening. My partner's meal was fine (it had bits of chopped-up gherkin in place of capers in her pasta... but no big deal). I had ordered a bacon & cheeseburger and emphasised that I wanted no 'salady stuff', mayonnaise, sauces or anything other than the bacon, cheese and burger in the bun. It came with all of those things in it! Again... no big deal at this stage... this wasn't the first time and won't be the last an order like that comes out wrong. I explained and the person who served it took it back to the kitchen.

When it came back a while later I could still smell the mayonnaise sauce and when I looked under the burger to check, could see that all they had done was try to scrape off as much sauce as they could and put it in a new bun. To his credit, the waiter owned-up immediately when I asked him and took it away again. By the time my fresh burger arrived my partner had finished her meal and I had to eat mine while she waited... hardly the 'meal for two' we had expected.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Fredd111,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Let me take this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced over the unsatisfactory service you have received during your stay. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a very clean well presented hotel - have stayed in many similiar and this rates as very good - staff are very knowledgeable and helpful - would recommend if in the area. Food is basic but well cooked - plenty available and well presented

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

It took a while to find this hotel (as mentioned on previous reviews) but once found my wife & I were pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel is. There was no rubbish outside & inside to reception was spotless. The reception staff were very friendly & helpful, they even gave us a ironing board & iron to use during our stay. The room itself was spacious, light, airy & clean. The bathroom was also very clean, a walk in shower & toilet (the door into the bathroom also acts as a locking door for the toilet, so someone could use the loo while someone else is having a shower - a neat idea). Soap & shower gels are provided by the hotel, something you don't always get in other hotel chains. The bed was very comfortable as were the pillows so a good nights sleep was had. Rooms are quiet also. Free complimentary breakfast consisted of either continenal style breakfast or full english, along with usual drinks, so a good variety. Can't comment on evening meals as we never purchased. Complimentary newspapers are available for you to read while at the bar.

The only negative I can say would be the pricing for wifi usage, £10.50 for 24hrs use is a bit steep (£3.50 for 1hrs use), but this is the only minor in what is a very nice holiday. Would have no hesitation in booking here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was excellent value for money and was very very clean- not what you normally expect in a budget hotel!
Service was good and attentive however, the food menu was limited.
Overall very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch

Address: 2 Hewell Rd | Enfield, Redditch B97 6AE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#4 Business Hotel in Redditch
#5 Family Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Holiday Inn Express Redditch town centre hotel offering 100 luxurious air-conditioned en-suite bedrooms, Lounge/Bar and GR Restaurant offering complimentary Buffet Breakfast with a selection of your Hot favourites and serving freshly prepared evening meals daily. Situated near the M42 Jct2/Jct3 and within easy reach of Birmingham’s NEC, NIA, ICC and the surrounding area. Complimentary parking for all guests and delegates, high speed Wi-Fi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Redditch Hotel Redditch
Holiday Inn Redditch
Redditch Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Birmingham, Redditch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.