We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Greens Bar & Restaurant

The Greens Bar & Restaurant
Plymouth Road | Pitcheroak Golf Course, Redditch B97 4PB, England
01527 546063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 84 Restaurants in Redditch
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Family Fare, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Greens provides a peaceful oasis with lovely views over Pitcheroak Golf Course minutes from the centre of Reddtich. The building itself is celebrating its 100th Anniversary in 2013. It has history and character to compliment the homemade traditional British food on offer. Visit our website to choose from the menu or book your party.
Redditch, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fabulous meal again, steaks are perfect and homemade chips to die for, hubby had the fish and said its the best he's had. Five of us ate together and all had top class meals,what a lovely friendly place to have a get together.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    21
    4
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Greasy Spoon”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to going to this restaurant however I arrived about 12:30 in the afternoon where the smell of fried foods totally put me off staying. We left. I wouldn't go back. Why is it rated number 1 when it's a cafe? It's a shame as Redditch needs more bistro restaurants.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegreensrestaurant, Owner at The Greens Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
The Greens has built its name on quality home made food as many of our reviews reflect. Friday, Saturday & Sunday mornings are obviously our busiest times for breakfasts, however, the only food that is fried are the eggs. Our state-of-the-art Rationale cooks all other components. Any establishment can only endeavour to fulfill the expectations of the majority of its clientelle at any given time. During the day the ambience changes to cater for our varied Lunch and Dinner menu. Home made chips have to be cooked in fryers not ovens or microwaves. We take great pride in our food, service and value which have been rated here with 1 star although none were sampled. Is it possible to review a theatre performance after leaving when the curtain rises because the chair was perceived as uncomfortable?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, goods portions, good value, nice location and good service. Well deserved 5 stars.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Had a great refreshing experience. The tood was well presented hot and tasty, no corners cut here. Served by staff who really cared. Would certainly recommend and return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Greatest home made food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The meal I had at Greens was outstanding, literally could not find fault even if we tried. Everything seems to be fresh and home made, even the ice cream on the dessert (Mandarin and JD flavour) Very nice indeed. The people running it are very nice, friendly and welcoming. I always like restaurants where the chef sometimes brings the food out and this is 1 of them. Don't expect nothing too posh and formal, it's a nice laid back atmosphere with some of the finest food I've ever eaten.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I must have gone to the wrong place if these other reviews are to believed.
Our son was playing cricket just around the corner and we wanted somewhere for lunch. We searched Tripadvisor and decided to pop in.
This is just an honest greasy spoon cafe. Great if you want a full breakfast all day and the smell of deep fried food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thegreensrestaurant, Owner at The Greens Bar & Restaurant, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for coming to The Greens and sampling our food. I am sorry that your expectations were not met. Obviously, during the mornings we cater for breakfasts and there is a period when this overlaps into lunch. However, only our eggs are fried as our state-of-the-art Rationale cooks everything else. Our home made chips are very popular but require fryers. The Greens adapts to its clientelle throughout the day with varied menus and ambience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Greens Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Redditch, Worcestershire
Redditch, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Greens Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Greens Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.