We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7th January 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hither Green Lane | Dagnell End Rd, Redditch B98 9BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Redditch
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“7th January 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the year and am please to confirm that it always meets expectations. It knows how to look after you, attentive, but not in your face and offers great rooms, the one I was in was very spacious.

Good home-style food in the 'Tawny's' bar, very relaxed.

I will be back, that's for sure.

Room Tip: Try and get a room ovelooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Nick M

Thank you so much for your lovely review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

We are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you feel that we always meet your expectations. We like to pride ourselves on the level of service that we offer and I am so pleased that you feel we do this consistently without being obtrusive.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    201
    82
    31
    13
See reviews for
142
175
14
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A group of friends just spent a couple of days over new year at the abbey hotel and it was fantastic. Nice large rooms on the ground floor, clean and spacious. Spa area is small but well maintained and clean. Three bars so plenty of room. The food in the bramble restaurant was excellent. The New Year's Eve masquerade ball was wonderful from the champagne reception with canapés to the 4 course dinner. Atmosphere was brilliant, the staff were very good throughout our stay. Will defo be returning to play golf and visit the hotel.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Jogar16,

WOW Thank you so much for taking the time to write this lovely review following your stay with us at the Abbey Hotel, Golf and Spa over New Year.

To hear how much you enjoyed your time, remarking on our Masquerade Ball being “ wonderful with the atmosphere being “brilliant” is great to here. The comments regarding our staff means a lot to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments

Once again thank you for your booking and choosing to celebrate New Year here at the Abbey. We would like to wish you all a happy and prosperous 2014 and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

With kindest regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

On arrive found reception staff very helpful and polite assigned our room which was clean and well maintained infact the complete hotel is very well maintained chatted to the maintance team who very very busy new years eve as the room door system crashed and where busy reprogramming all the door locks but it was not a problem and they got everything working. The pool and gym area was nice and clean the pool was just the right temp and again very well maintained. Breakfast was really nice buffet style which I prefer plenty of choice for everybody hot food was cooked nice not over done or looked like it had been there along time.no complaints at all. The new year gala ball
again staff worked very hard meal was nice enterainment was good. Good value for money would look at booking again next year or maybe during the year

Room Tip: all the rooms looked about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Mick and Sue Bennett,

Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa over New Year and for taking the time to share your views with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so pleased you had a pleasant stay with us and really appreciate your comments regarding our New Years Eve Gala Package.

We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments.

Once again thank you and, I would like to take this opportunity to wish you both a happy and prosperous 2014 and we look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Kindest regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Lovely place but buffet breakfast shocking. Dried up mushrooms no beans or tomatoes just juice , uncooked bacon, toast on rations, my advice is go to mcdonalds up the road for breakfast really upset me after a nice stay at a nice hotel , what a shame as it seemed no one was watching over the breakfast buffet area , we went home fuming which is not what I wanted but it really upset me

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Mark J,

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and sharing your views on TripAdvisor.

I am happy overall you had a nice day, but am sorry to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. I would like to assure you that your comments with regards to breakfast have been passed onto our Food and Beverage manager so that the aspects raised can be addressed fully. We constantly strive to provide all of our guests with the highest standard from the moment they arrive and at this point I can only apologise that you felt you did not receive this.

Once again thank you for your comments, should you decide to return please contact me directly so that I can personally oversee your reservation and demonstrate that your restaurant experience was an exception to the rule.

Kindest regards,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

booked in for one night b & b XMAS DINNER AND ENTERTAINMENT and i have to say it was above expectations. a large group of friends all booked for the christmas entertainment and that was a hit from the start and the food was very well presented with all the trimmings but not a good judge of the quality of the food as all you dairy freeks would have gone OD on the sweet but for me i can't do... but it smelt gorgous. the room was exceptionally clean and high class, well the room our friends were in but as they were over booked i ended up in the suite and that's a bigger version of their room and oh so nice. of course we had full access for the spa facilities and the bar overlooked the 18th. one thing that really stood out was the staff courtesy and the fact they walk around with out their eyes on the floor..... well done to them

Room Tip: if you are there for entertainment rooms near to the penthouse suites or malvern are closer to the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Colin P

Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa and for taking the time to share your views with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so pleased you had a pleasant stay and really appreciate your comments regarding one of our Christmas Party-night packages which included entertainment. With regards to the menu, we do strive to cater for any dietary requirements and are able to offer suitable alternatives once bought to our attention.

We value any feedback that we receive and your comments with regards to our staff is very important to us and will certainly be fed back to all departments.

Once again thank you and we look forward to welcoming you all back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here the w/e 7/12/2013, as we had secretly got married. The hotel was amazing, the rooms spacious and so clean, and the food was excellent.
A huge thank you to Zoe who was a great help and very accommodating and made my wedding day extra special by placing rose petals on our bed, and also booked us a table in the tawny bar as the main function rooms were being used. She is a gem.
All the staff are very pleasant and go the extra mile too.
I would recommend this hotel and it cannot be faulted. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, and had no problems, what a wonderful stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear pelecara
Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback following your wedding celebration at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa. We truly hope you had a fantastic day.

I look forward to passing your wonderful comments onto all our team and have already expressed your thanks onto Zoey who is absolutely thrilled.

Once again many congratulations and we look forward to welcoming you back again to the Abbey.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We return to this hotel three ir fiur times a year. Everything about the hotel, the staff, the service and the location is to our liking. The golf course is always very challenging and my partner enjoys the Spa facilities. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and we have never had a bad breakfast or dinner experience. We are most certainly looking forward to our next stay over the Xmas period.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Stevedelb,
Thank you so much for your review and return visit to the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa. We always love welcoming guests back and to hear your stay was just as previous stays means a lot to us.

We are thrilled that everything is to your liking and thank you for your wonderful comments about our hotel and the facilities, from the golf course and spa facilities to the breakfast and dining experience.

Thank you so much again and we look forward to welcoming you back again over the Christmas period to the Abbey.

With Kindest Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: Hither Green Lane | Dagnell End Rd, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Family Hotel in Redditch
#6 Business Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leading 4 star independent hotel, set in 175-acres of beautiful Worcestershire countryside. Boasts 100 stylish en-suite bedrooms featuring free WiFi access, H2K toiletries and hospitality tray. Relax in the superb leisure club with heated pool before pampering yourself with a beauty treatment or Play a round on the Abbey championship golf course. Situated in a beautiful rural location yet minutes from the motorway, The Abbey Hotel provides an ideal UK meeting point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa Redditch, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.