We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa

Save Saved
You added Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hither Green Lane | Dagnell End Rd, Redditch B98 9BE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 hotels in Redditch
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Wow what a year. Where has time gone – all the fantastic memories of Beth and Charlie’s lovely wedding day have come flooding back now we have almost reached December 10th one year on. We are just off to Club La Santa, Lanzarote, the theme of their wedding, where Beth and Charlie met and it has bought back all those fabulous memories. What a superb day it was. Everything went to plan - a day packed with surprises. The Abbey Hotel staff were fantastic – helped by Kay’s meticulous planning and Chris who compered the occasion and adjusted timings with finesse. Kay was so helpful with all the wedding preparation, an essential person and a joy to work with. Sarah was great setting up the tables in the venue and the disco was enjoyed by all. The Abbey staff made the day go so smoothly and catered for every need. The wedding breakfast and evening food was very good. We had so many lovely comments from our guests about how much they enjoyed themselves and the hotel facilities. To quote the bride and groom Beth and Charlie ‘It was the best day of our lives and lots of fun and nothing went wrong!’ Many thanks Abbey Hotel for a wonderful day last year.
We celebrated New Years Eve 2011 at the hotel in great style and are back again for this New Years Eve. Excellent value for money.
Very proud parents of the Bride - Chris and Denis

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Chris_and_Denis,

Many thanks for your review following your daughter’s and new son-in-law’s wedding reception at the Abbey Hotel last year. We are all THRILLED to hear that you had a superb day and to hear the bride and groom say it was the best day of their lives means the world to us here. Furthermore I know our wedding coordinator Kay and manager Chris will be delighted to hear what a poignant part they played in making their wedding day perfect.

We wish Beth and Charlie every happiness in their married life and look forward to welcoming you all back to the Abbey Hotel soon.

Many thanks again.

Kindest regards.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    176
    74
    28
    10
See reviews for
126
159
14
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

This a good 4* hotel with lovely facilities in an excellent location for ease of access and travel to tourist places in the West Midlands. It is also a good location for meetings and conferences being close but out of sight and sound of the motorway. The rooms are well decorated and spacious but can be difficult to temperature control. Do not leave the room without a card in the electric slot or you will find a very cold room in winter upon your return. The bathrooms have a good shower and are clean and up to date.
Staff are excellent and very approachable if you need information or help of any kind.The bar area is pleasant and comfortable and breakfast is particularly good in the restaurant. Other guests seemed happy with evening meals which I did not try. The Spa and golf facilities are very good and reasonably priced. Rooms to the rear have a lovely view over the gardens and golf course.
Overall not a hotel for that special occasion or one with a wow factor but a good hotel for business and short stays that has been consistently good every time I have stayed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Mikem28,

Thank you for this feedback following your recent break at the Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and it is great to hear that your short stays with us have always been consistently good. I am pleased your opinion of the room was well decorated and spacious, however, I have passed your comment about temperature control onto our Head Housekeeper. We take all feedback seriously and view it as a way to continually improve our products and service Furthermore it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed are Spa and golf facilities and felt these deliver good value for money.

Once again thank you and we look forward to a return visit again and one which I hope will deliver the WOW factor to you.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Nice enough hotel. Only stayed the one night for leisure. Nice enough decor throughout and clean. Front desk staff were very good, professional and friendly. In fact all the staff were like that in the restaurants etc. Good facilities in the spa area, well equipped gym and nice sauna and steam room.

The room was ridiculously hot. There was a fan over the bed which was needed. The room we booked was a superior. Not sure why it was called this but supposedly a bit bigger. Nice furniture but the bathroom was tiny. Odd shaped triangular shower which was a bit awkward. We went to use the shower/bath at about midnight. Absolutely no hot water which is not very good in this day and age. ~Plenty of water at other times but this should be a 24 hour thing...not a few hours in morning and evening.
The only other moan was the restaurant. The food was good quality but my dish came out cold. Had to be reheated which to be fair they done it all fresh again. We ordered desert which was a plate of 3 sponge puddings and was stated as coming with a jug of custard. The custard was like yellow water. Not the hardest of things to make really, is it? When we mentioned this we were told that it was not custard but some other 'creme de vanilla' . Think that was the flannel we were given but on checking the menu it was meant to be custard. The staff handled it all very well, but just be honest in future. They need to suit out the lighting and general ambience in the dining room. Very cold and impersonal. This applies to the bar area beside the restaurant. We wanted to sit and have an after dinner drink but to be honest, the bar area was not very appealing. We did notice the next morning that there were a few other rooms nearby which we could have had a quiet drink in.

Breakfast was ok...nothing special. Toast burnt to a crisp. Food could have done with being properly heated.

Good place. Would stay again. I got a cheaper price with booking straight with the hotel in stead of any of the usual booking websites.

Room Tip: Not sure if superior room is worth it....although have not seen a standard room. They must be really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear welltravelled1965

Many thanks for taking the time to give your feedback following your stay at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa.

Thank you for your kind comments about our fantastic staff, we too are very proud of our hard working team so it is great to get such praise. Furthermore I have highlighted your comments with regards to our Spa facilities to our Spa and Health Club Manager whom I know will be delighted.

I would like to apologise for any hot water issue you experienced during stay, we are not aware of any problems and obviously hot water is available 24 hours a day for our guests. I will be looking into this issue in more detail with our water authority to ascertain if there was a problem during the night of your stay. Ensuring our guests have a great and comfortable stay is of upmost importance to us.

Furthermore we really are sorry for any disappointment you experienced whilst dining with us, however, I am pleased your dish was freshly prepared again for you. Just to confirm the jug of custard you mentioned, is actually a Crème Anglaise, this is a light pouring custard and is a mix of sugar, egg yolks and hot milk.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. If you would like to personally speak to me further please do not hesitate to contact me on john.hindson@theabbeyhotel.co.uk

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Booked this via the list in Cadbury World Website. It was very reasonable and had a pool and. There was only about £20 difference between the Abbey and the Travel Lodge down the Road. It is a lovely hotel with plenty of parking. The rooms were clean and the staff helpful and friendly. I booked 2 rooms (1 for my sister) and a family room for us. Our room had a camp bed in for my little boy who is 4, There was a small packet of Haribos tucked in his duvet cover. Such a small token had a huge impact on my little man and it made his day. We used the pool which was like walking into a hot bath (except once you have been in the sauna and steam room). The changing rooms were clean and had plenty of space and hair dryers. We had lunch in the sports bar which was reasonable and the lady was very friendly. Would recommend this Hotel. It was value for money and the breakfasts were fabulous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear alison b,

Thanks so much for your recent review following your family break at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt it delivered great value for money and is lovely to hear how much your son enjoyed his surprise gift in his room.

Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

What great, competent & professional staff the establishment has employed and it's not everyday you can say that! We had a great weekend, good clean spacious room and excellent food.......would thoroughly recommend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Mike G,

Many thanks for your “Great accommodation, food & staff” review following your stay at the Abbey Hotel Golf and Spa.

We are all thrilled to hear you had a wonderful weekend and the team here will be elated to know how great, competent and professional you regarded them during your stay.

Thank you so much for your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here with friends and had a lovely relaxing weekend. The food was lovely, beautifully presented and well cooked. The house red was great too.
We spent some time in the pool, steam room and jacuzzi and went into Birmingham on the train (only 30 minutes) to see the Christmas Market.
A lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Upgrade for a superking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear evegreg55,

Thank you for this great review following your break at the Abbey Hotel, Golf & Spa. We are all absolutely delighted with these fantastic comments.

So pleased you enjoyed the German Markets in Birmingham, we are all excited this is now open for the run up to Christmas, a wonderful place to visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kindest regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were there for a social event with a car enthusiast club and had a fantastic buffet put on for us which catered fantastical for both vegetarians and meat eaters alike. We were offered a private bar to use whilst waiting for everyone to arrive, and the staff were effective, polite and cheerful. We have used the Abbey Hotel quite a few times for events and their standards never drop.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnHindson, General Manager at Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear JanieBean22,

Many thanks for this wonderful review following your event booking at the Abbey Hotel Golf and Spa. I am so pleased to hear your event was a success and we really do appreciate your kind comments about our food and our dedicated team here. I look forward to passing your kind comments on.

It was our absolute pleasure in accommodating your event and we all look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kindest regards, John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa

Address: Hither Green Lane | Dagnell End Rd, Redditch B98 9BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Redditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Redditch
#3 Family Hotel in Redditch
#6 Business Hotel in Redditch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A leading 4 star independent hotel, set in 175-acres of beautiful Worcestershire countryside. Boasts 100 stylish en-suite bedrooms featuring free WiFi access, H2K toiletries and hospitality tray. Relax in the superb leisure club with heated pool before pampering yourself with a beauty treatment or Play a round on the Abbey championship golf course. Situated in a beautiful rural location yet minutes from the motorway, The Abbey Hotel provides an ideal UK meeting point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Golf And Country Club
Abbey Hotel Country
Redditch Best Western
Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa Redditch, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Hotel Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.