We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attitude Review Urgently Needed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Talbot Hotel

The Talbot Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Knightwick
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Talbot Hotel
Save
You added The Talbot Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Knightwick WR6 5PH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knightwick
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Attitude Review Urgently Needed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I visited The Talbot at Knightwick with my family to visit the small but excellent Farmer's Market held there on the second Sunday of each month.

While the pub was busy, largely because of the glorious weather bringing visitors to the market and the neighbouring Beer Festival, the attitude of the staff that we encountered did not match up to the joy of the customers or the business that they bought with them.

If someone was paying me £1:50 per cup for pretty stale and weak coffee I would smile sweetly at them as they paid for 4 cups knowing the cost of the ingredients and the resulting mark
up. What I wouldn't do is frown at them as though they were an inconvenience

Please, please make your customers feel welcome, they're your life blood. You have a potentially magnificent venue, use that fact to make it the place that everyone wants to visit.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    29
    13
    17
    15
See reviews for
21
37
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely lovely from start to finish. The setting is fantastic and the food amazing. This is a lovely place to spend and afternoon in. The beer is fantastic and a great selection of wines. I can hand on heart say that I will be back again to eat drink and make merry!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Afew years ago the Talbot was a real treat. Then the food became patchier and patchier, if you had a good main the dessert would be poor, and vice versa.
The last couple of years we have not been nearly as much. Last time two of us had soup, two different soups-but both were disgusting, and we ended up pouring them out in the garden (to avoid any embarresment over the amount we had left.
Today we went again, one of us had gravlax salad and soup-the soup was apparently vile and the gravlax not great, and over priced. I had what was meant to be shropshire blue Gnocchi as a main course, with tomato sauce; but what arrived were three deep fried "cheese balls" and tomato puree on the side. When the cheese balls were cut open they were compleately liquid and seemed like mainly cheese-mixed with undercooked batter-they were barely edible.
The home made ice-creams were good as a pudding, but the coffee was very strong and bitter-and no one enjoyed it.
The people are friendly, but the service very slow.

It's sad, as I remember delicious meals about three years ago, and now it's "pub-grub" at best, and anything more complicated than fish and chips or quiche is probably best avoided.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We have been visiting this pub for years and it pretty much always impresses us. I am a fairly keen cook myself and we often go to run of the mill pubs and are disappointed with the quality of the food. This is not so here. Annie and Wiz who run the restaurant are really friendly and are always interested in what you think of the food.
A lot of the vegetables are grown at the pub, other food is locally sourced and the beer is brewed on site!
We go as a family usually often when there is a farmers market on in the car park or for birthdays and celebrations. The setting is lovely too. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

My husband and I had planned a 4 day trip walking in the Malvern Hills over the Easter Weekend, having booked accommodation a few months ago, we were let down (a bizarre experience of turning up to check in and finding the place locked up, no-one around and no-one answering the phone - and this was after confirming the day before). Sitting in Malvern at 6pm trying to think where we would go now, we remembered an overnight stay at The Talbot 5 years before when we were walking the Worcestershire Way - we can't remember the other places we stayed, but we remembered The Talbot for it's homemade shortbread in the bedrooms and it's admirable ethos regarding local food.
It was therefore completely on the off chance that we checked to see if we could stay there for the weekend.
We were lucky that they could accommodate us and we stayed here for our 4 night long weekend. The place was exactly as we remembered it, the ethos has not changed and there are still home made shortbread in the bedrooms.
Our room was small, but had everything we needed. The Food is good, the menu changes daily depending on what's available locally. We found it reasonably priced, £100 per night B&B, plus main meals for around £10 in the evening. My husband particularly likes the beers brewed next door, 'This', 'That' and 't'other'. A good selection of wine from a reasonly priced menu. Staff are friendly and helpful.
If you're looking for a pristine Premier Inn type hotel, then the Talbot is not for you, it's quirky and is all the better for it.
Plenty of walking locally, and only a short drive from Malvern and Worcester. Our only regret was not booking The Talbot originally.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

After finding that two pubs we had been recommended on Bringsty Common were closed during that eerie 1500-1800hrs zone, we could stand the lack of beer no more and sought in desperation some local knowledge as to where to rove.
The Talbot at Knightwick is set back from the A44 between Worcester and Bromyard, at the edge of the River Teme, which somehow gives it a holiday feel. However this was nearly 1730hrs on a March weekday and the sun was setting, so we found two seats by an enormous woodburner in the bar and settled into a pint of 'That' (their home-produced beers are named This, That and T'Other), soon followed by another.
Admittedly we ate crisps, not a meal, but the menu, including a set lunchtime menu for c£12 looked honest and good value. However on my customary exploration I found a large conservatory-style dining room of the spotless, cheery sort where you take auntie for Sunday lunch. The windows to one end overlook lawns and flowerbeds and (noteworthy if you must eat with small children) a paddock with cute Oxford piglets who were all extremely busy in the mud. Several of their winged friends are etched to adorn the windows and glass doors which was fun. There are rooms and cooked breakfasts available daily to the passing traveller.
Back at the bar there was chat of dogs and tractors, and before long two fellows came in from the Cheltenham Festival racing and retrieved their bottle of wine from the night before from behind the bar. My husband observed that it was most likely not their only bottle of the previous evening, but with the bottle under his arm, a glass in one hand and the running order for the following day in the other, our pundit removed the cork with his teeth and settled steadily to a table to chat over the day's exploits with his pal.
Truly the Talbot is a place of character and characters and entirely worthy of your custom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our second visit with friends, just as great as our first visit. Rooms warm, clean and comfortable, food excellent. The real ale from the micro brewery next door was savored by the males in the party, whilst the wine (good selection/reasonably priced) was equally appreciated by the ladies. Lovely area, friendly and efficient staff and boy oh boy what a breakfast, One of our friends has to have a gluten free diet, no problems gluten free bread was provided, the menu identified gluten free meals and also a special gluten free bread and butter pudding with orange liquer; fabulous as was the large selection of home made ice cream. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Talbot Hotel

Address: Knightwick WR6 5PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Knightwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Knightwick
Hotel Class:4 star — The Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Knightwick
The Talbot Hotel Knightwick, Worcestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Talbot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.