We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than its rating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gainsborough House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gainsborough House Hotel to your Saves list
Gainsborough House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY11 6BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Better than its rating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for one night.Very friendly staff.
Well appointed clean rooms.
Good reasonably priced food & drink.
Close to West Midlands Safari Park & Kidderminster Severn Valley Historic Railway.
Close to town, free parking at hotel.
Well worth the stay whilst visiting the attractions.

Room Tip: We were in room 7, close to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    79
    26
    6
    9
See reviews for
38
105
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the Gainsborough for three nights this week, having booked what was called the 'Romantic package' - dinner bed and breakfast. The hotel itself is well placed for traveling around and exploring the South and West Midlands. Friendly and helpful staff made the stay worthwhile. Although the hotel had a good number of residents on each of our 3 nights, very few took advantage of the restaurant. Most residents were members of a contracting team working in the area who possibly did not have the benefit of eating in the hotel. The menu was varied and the food very good on each occasion we dined. Service was attentive but not over- so and we weren't rushed through our meal. Breakfast was also very good. A good range of options both hot and cold. Staff were friendly and happy to offer advice on places to visit around the area. The room we had was a reasonable size and comfortable, with free wifi available too. All in all a good place to stay for exploring places around the area. Only one drawback was having to carry our luggage up to the top (third) floor, a total of 42 steps. While there were stairlifts to the first two floors for 'infirm' residents, it would have been better for making some provision for those occupying the third floor rooms. Just the offer of having staff to carry bags up would be helpful. Not five star but very good value and clean. One to recommend.

Room Tip: If you are infirm or have difficulty in climbing stairs, ask for a low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

I held my daughters christening in June and it was perfect!

Danny the events manager was excellent, he has great attention to detail and ensured the day went well. We had a fantastic time, everyone commented how amazing the food was and how much there was of it - great portion sizes. All rooms nicely cleaned and the staff on the day couldn't do enough.

The whole booking, communication building up to the event was great. If your looking for a little hotel with a big first class service - look no further.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The room and bathroom were large,clean and at the side of the hotel overlooking the Park- No.37. Although near the main road it was not a problem.The dinner and breakfast were very good in quantity, quality and presentation. The waitresses were excellent and attentive and nothing was too much trouble.
Although toiletries were in the bathroom I would make a recommendation that body lotion was included.
Would definitely stay again if visiting Kidderminster again,

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter- we were on Floor 3 but there is no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed for the safari park package in a family room. Great value for money as included breakfast and couldn't have been better positioned in relation to the park. Very clean and modern with friendly courteous staff. Fridge in the room would have been a nice extra but no other suggestions for improvement. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We didn't actually stay at the Gainsborough,but we had a very nice meal here.The food was nicely cooked,and served by very pleasant young waitresses.The hotel itself was clean and tidy,and looked as if it had recently had a refurb.The bar looked very smart and modern,as did the restaurant.We would definitely consider staying at the Gainsborough,should we be visiting Kidderminster again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
It was great to hear of your happy experience in our restaurant. We would love to welcome you back and next time have you stay with us. Thank you for your kind words and it was nice to know the waiting staffs efforts were appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I would definitely stay here again and recommend to others. Lovely room, very clean, had everything u needed and kingsize comfy bed. Evening meal was fantastic and service quick and faultless. Breakfast was lovely, plenty of it hot and cold food. Well done gainsborough :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. The team at the hotel always attempt to maintain the highest standards and we greatly appreciate your feedback. We would love to be of service to you again in the future and truly appreciate your recommendation for other travellers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gainsborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough House Hotel

Address: Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY11 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gainsborough House Hotel is a listed Georgian house situated in the beautiful county of Worcestershire, providing all the features required from modern day life yet retaining every ounce of its original charm. Just a short walk from Kidderminster town centre and a short drive from the idyllic town of Bewdley, we're perfectly positioned whether you desire a lively shopping experience, the regions businesses or a day of quiet relaxation. Whatever you're looking to get from Kidderminster, Gainsborough House Hotel is the perfect place to call home while you're here. After undergoing comprehensive modernization, every one of the hotels 42 bedrooms delivers unrivalled contemporary luxury. Accompanying these, Gainsborough House Hotel boasts an in-house restaurant serving freshly prepared cuisine, crafted from locally sourced produce by our team of masterful chefs. Our romantic listed house is also available all year round for Civil Ceremonies, Wedding Breakfasts and Evening Receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gainsborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Kidderminster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gainsborough House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.