We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Perfect Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gainsborough House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gainsborough House Hotel to your Saves list
Gainsborough House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY116BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Our Perfect Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Me & My Husband got Married at The Gainsborough in December 2012. We have to say that it was The most Perfect day we could of asked for! The staff at the hotel were amazing, nothing we asked for was to much trouble. Me & my Bridesmaids arrived the night before, the room we stayed in was modern, clean & had Hot Chocolate! (I'm a sucker when it come to chocolate!) We all had a great nights sleep & Breakfast was Fab! Full English Breakfast Buffet & could ask if we wanted something different.
We moved to the Bridal suite to get ready & It was lovely. Our Wedding Co-ordinator Viv was great, ran me through the day's details & put my mind at ease (I'm fussy to say the least).
The Civil Ceremony went perfectly & while we were having our pictures done outside, they staff efficiently made the room up ready for Our Wedding breakfast. There was a small area for pictures outside, which wasn't a problem as after the group pics, we has a quick walk around to the park (literally 10 seconds away) to have some more private & personal photos, best of both worlds! The staff even made sure no-one parked right outside the hotel so we could use the front for group photos & have nice pictures of the hotel.
While waiting for the room turn around we used the bar area, which was great, it was big enough for all our guests, yet intimate so everyone mingled together.
The suite we had Our ceremony & reception in was Lovely, it was big & had lots of Character!
The food was fantastic & all our guests couldn't fault it, there was even extra's being handed out! You could tell it was all homemade & the portion size was generous! For the Evening we had a Curry buffet, which yet again was great! exactly what we asked for.
We just wanted to say a huge Thank you to the Manager Danny & all his Staff for helping to make Our day Perfect! I would Highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a fantastic Wedding & stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    67
    23
    6
    8
See reviews for
34
82
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed one night with our two young grandchildren in a family room whilst visiting family.. The room was lovely with comfortable beds, warm and inviting. The room was spotlessly clean with plenty of towels and toiletries for us all..The children thought it was great and they really enjoyed the hot chocolate drinks and biscuits they had from the tea tray.The breakfast was excellent. It was self service with a very good choice and no restrictions on the amount you had.The staff were all very polite and helpful.There was a Christmas party in one of the function suites but being on the second floor we never heard a thing. We would book this hotel again....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. Glad to hear the children enjoyed the complimentary hot chocolate and biscuits in the bedrooms. We do hope we have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bromley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for one night at this hotel just to break the journey from Kent to Anglesey, we booked one twin and one double. We arrived at the hotel quite late and was greeted by a 30th birthday party which was very loud and we could not hear the young lady on reception. However when we made our way to our rooms we were pleasantly surprised that we could not hear the party at all.
We had a very good night sleep in a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was ok but nothing special. The breakfast in the morning was a buffet style and of good quality with cereal, yoghurt,fresh fruit, toast and a selection of a fully English breakfast.
This was a good choice of hotel for a stop over.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Many thanks for letting us know your thoughts. We’re delighted to know our most important offerings; your bed and your breakfast, were met with satisfaction. We’re also extremely sorry your arrival was affected by party noise, but glad this didn’t affect you in your rooms, as we do always try to minimize the effect any functions have on our hotel guests. Any suggestions you may have on how to improve this part of our facility we’d love to hear, so please don’t be shy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed just one night at the Gainsborough. No one on reception to greet us and after 10 mins had to find someone.

Room was ok your average hotel room however when we first went in it smelt rather fusty so opened all available windows and this helped, It was clean and had all the usual as expected.

The bar & restaurant staff were a real credit to the hotel and we had a lovely evening with family, thank you staff. We had evening meals served in the bar and the food was really nice.

Slept ok and went for breakfast next morning. We were asked if we had been before and were shown where the plates were etc. However a bit later another guest came in and he was asked if he would like his eggs fried poached etc. e were not given this option and thought that scrambled eggs were the only eggs available. Why where we not offered this service?

So overall it was ok but could have been better and got an excellant however our stay only justifies an average. If you want to be excellant you have to give an excellant service!.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We’re sorry your stay didn’t meet our usual high standards and we apologise that the desk was unmanned when you arrived. At breakfast you definitely should have been offered fried/poached eggs and as such we’ve raised the issue with the relevant members of staff to avoid any repeat occurrence. On a lighter note, we’re delighted you enjoyed your time in our restaurant/bar and ask only that you remember us for this lovely evening rather than an uncharacteristic blip in service standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My mum and I stayed here for 1 night in a twin room as we were going to West Midlands Safari Park & thought we'd make a little trip of it. For the money we can't complain at all, it was cheaper than the travel lodge down the road and included brekky which was great with loadsa selection and constantly being topped up and re-filled. I must say every staff member was very friendly, polite and acknowledged us every time we walked by, from the reception, the cleaners, to the bar staff etc. The rooms are standard and slightly worn but still clean and modern with toiletries, towels, tea making facilities and hair dryer. The bar and restaurant looked great, modern, cosy and great decor (looked new) although we didn't drink/eat in there apart from brekky. West Midlands Safari Park is litrally a 5 minute drive away so excellent for that reason but don't expect much else for the location as the local town is run-down and there's no good restaurants or bars unless you like Chinese...newly opened, amazing and just down the road. I would rate the hotel a 3 star overall but value for money & staff deserve a 5 star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Many thanks for your kind words. We’re really happy to know you enjoyed your stay and have passed your compliments on to our team. Regards the local area, there’s a wealth of quality local restaurants and days out etc. that our receptionists are always happy to help arrange or direct you towards, apologies that this information wasn’t more freely accessible. Please do visit again soon, we’ll be looking forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Had quite a comfortable evening , reasonable food although very small portions.
Bar was very comfortable and wine was good, first time I have EVER seen a fruit machine in a hotel reception though?
Went for breakfast in morning, and to my dissapointment a whole coach load of pensioners had turned up making breakfast a total no go zone as there were no spare tables and a queue of at least 20 people waiting for buffet and coffee - I had to leave and go to McDonalds, there wasn't even any staff to check me out.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

booked in to here sat 1st september 2012 for bed and breakfast and to watch a band the blind lemons, booked in early to make the most of our night, enjoyed a lovely evening meal in restaurant, followed by a great band , made use of residents bar which was nice and pleasant, the breakfast was lovely and plenty with something for everyone, the staff were all very pleasant and helpfull, will definately be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel B, Public Relations Manager at Gainsborough House Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Many thanks. Your comments are so kind! It’s lovely to know you enjoyed everything about your stay. We’ll be looking forward to welcoming you back…see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gainsborough House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gainsborough House Hotel

Address: Bewdley Hill, Kidderminster DY116BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Kidderminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kidderminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gainsborough House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gainsborough House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gainsborough Hotel Kidderminster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gainsborough House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.