We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowcher offer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn Restaurant

The Ship Inn Restaurant
Severnside Highley, Kidderminster WV16 6NU, England
01746 861219
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 92 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wowcher offer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Great place to stay, due to a misunderstanding on dates booked we were offered a lodge over looking the river, so pleased it was messed up, as the lodge had everything we needed, the food is excellent in the pub, took a trip on steam train (station behind pub) to Bridgenorth, Highly recommend staying here.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Perks of Retirement..!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Called in for lunch with 2 friends - excellent menu and very well-priced. We were delighted to find the Pensioners' Special Offer - £6.00 for a main course and then only £1.50 for dessert..!!!
Two of us had the steak pie, chips and peas, and one had the gammon, egg and chips - all wonderful value, large plates of freshly-cooked food which tasted fabulous. Two of us then followed this with sticky toffee roulade and cream, and the other with fruit pavlova and ice-cream - again, all delicious.
Service was good, especially as a large party followed us in so the staff were very busy.
There was an excellent selection of real ales to choose from - we all staggered out replete and vowing to return in the summer when it will be warm enough to eat on the large decking overlooking the river. Thoroughly recommended...!!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Food was Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

there was an excellent choice of food, nothing was too much trouble, requested cheesy mash instead of chips, no problem with swapping-very helpful friendly staff, highly recommend this restaurant

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed her for two nights and ate in.Tuesday night Steak night,TWO rib-eye's chips and salad AND a bottle of wine £25
Indian buffet on Wednesday, 8.95 with ice cream PLUS 10% off for over 60s.....love it!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Booked here for my partner's 50th birthday lunch with his parents. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We opted to eat in the restaurant as it was a bit noisy for the elderly parents in the bar area but the views from there were good, there is also a very nice decked area to make the most of the views of the Severn.

The food was excellent, a nice selection of starters and mains on the specials board as well as the everyday menu that you can find on their website. Starters priced about £5 and Mains average about £10. We were so glad we didn't order a starter as the main meal portions were huge! We all had a different dish and all were well cooked and presented, the large cod and chips were so large that it did not fit on the large plate! The homemade chips were beautifully cooked and my Steak Diane was perfect (medium rare), the stuffed chicken breast in shropshire sauce and the steak pie did not disappoint either. Only slight gripe, the salad came in a bowl with coleslaw and a dressing on top, so if like me you like your salad au natural make sure you mention it when ordering.

Drinks were reasonably priced and bottles of wine start from £11 for a nice Cabernet Sauvignon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn Restaurant also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Ship Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.