We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“becareful who is listening!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Island Pool

The Island Pool
Wolverhampton Road, Kidderminster DY10 3RX, England
01562 850 311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 92 Restaurants in Kidderminster
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Island Pool is a clasic country pub serving not only a high standard of food but great tradional ales. We have to offer, a carvery with a choice our locally sourced meats accompanied by a wide variety of fresh locally sourced vegetables. Alongside our carvery we have an extensive menu with a range of foods to suit any and every pallet. We are proud to offer exquisite beef steaks, also sourced locally, and are all cooked to perfection.For Bookings or any information, send us a message or give us a call! We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“becareful who is listening!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Popped in for 'all you can eat breakfast'. Start off with the positive things........excellent value for money. Food quite good, although must be more organised and on top of the game. People including ourselves had to wait for items to be cooked. Environment was ok for the type of meal being served.
Now for the negative........we were sat close to the bar and could clearly hear the staff saying that people were 'greedy' taking the toast as soon as it appeared on the severey! We weren't the only people to hear this another couple heard the conversation too and raised their eye brows in response.
Not what you want to hear when you have paid for an 'all you can eat breakfast'. However with all this in mind, we did enjoy our Sunday morning breakfast and may well go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    71
    29
    21
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Popped in for the all you can eat buffet breakfast. Couldn't fault anything! Will return! Cost £10 including coffee and juice, what more could you ask for!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Fantastic value !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Had to try this one after being recommended to it.
Reading some reviews I couldn't make my mind up if we would have an enjoyable meal or a dissapointing night! So we decided to 'go see', and now we shall go again! Soon I hope.
The gentleman who served us was most polite and chatted away with a friendly manner. The quality of the beef,gammon and turkey were excellent. Everything on offer was hot. plentiful and nicely displayed.
Some areas were in need of some maintenance/decoration,but at the price being charged it would be plain unfair to expect 5 star surroundings and comfort.
Next time we will try something off the main menu, I'm pretty sure it will be worth going back for.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Restaurant needs a facelift. Strangely you cannot open a tab at the bar and need to pay before you eat! Do they have many people that run off before paying! Meat selection good and tasty, same cant be said for the vegetables. I have read previous reviews and managers comments and potatoes were definitely out of a packet as were mash and carrots. That said it was ok, wouldn't rush back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice friendly place with nice tasting food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff happy to help with excellent value. Where as other carvery's try to see how thin they can cut you meat, before you can say its a vegetarian this place is happy to give you a good sized portion. Plenty of choice with vegetables (although you always get someone that wants what they don't have that night). Would I recommend it...... Yes in fact I'll be going back again soon :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Island Pool also viewed

Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Island Pool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Island Pool, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.