We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle

Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle
Stourport Rd, Hartlebury DY11 7XZ, England
01299 250 916
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
1,164 helpful votes 1,164 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I visited the museum decades ago with school parties.
My recent visit showed much modernisation, especially the lift. The setting is excellent and I found much to commend the exhibits. Although slightly small the museum interested me and reflected my own memories (my mother used one of those!).
One of the biggest let downs was the cafe where, I was told by a server there, there was only one member of staff in order to save money. That solitary lady worked her socks Off but even so the queue grew. Much of the food needed for the day had simply not been ordered so instead of ordering from the menu I simply asked what she did have. The quality was excellent if a little pricey.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fab day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Great day out for all! Only about £13 for a family of 4. It appeals to the kids and us older ones. They have a lovely display of gypsy waggons and old cars. They also do little activities to keep the kids amusedon the way round. The main house has lots of interesting things to look at.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Could have spent many hours here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We visited on an extremely cold day just before the country came to snowy standstill! I was captivated by all the displays, especially the gypsy caravans,some of which are quite rare. In fact we could have spent hours just in this section. Information is clear and fascinating.
All displays in the museum are excellent, with many activities for children. It was not busy when we were there so we four adults were able to dress up as highwaymen and do all the inter-active things! (The schoolroom was being used by a school group,so we did not see in there.) The display of handbags was wonderful. I'm sure that children would love this place.
We had hot chocolate in the cafe and were made to feel very welcome. We also bought home-made jams and lemon cheese ( best I've ever tasted).
The shop was very tempting with items for a range buyers.
Staff were very pleasant and we applaud them . Lovely to walk round a museum without feeling threatened by notices and over-watchful attendants!
(I see some other reviewers have grumbles about the outside loos...the facilities are spotlessly clean and we appreciate that this is an old building, where creating indoor loos would involve considerable expense.)
No grumbles from us at all. We hope to come back in warmer weather to explore the walks.
Congratulations tot all the staff for making such a great museum.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unearthed... the Bredon Hoard!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Visited on 27th March 2013. A very cold day with some snow, so we didn't really do justice to the Cider Mill or the other outdoor displays, nor did we visit the wild life walks. Next Time!! The gypsy caravans and the vintage vehicles (horse drawn, bikes and a very rare three wheel car) were fantastic, and the commentaries excellent, especially the young people asking questions.
The museum itself is cleverly laid out, and the way round clearly marked. (stairs or a lift will take you to all three floors). There's just enough in each display to inform without boring, whatever age is looking! You'll find videos, interactive puzzles, costumes, doors to open, smells to inhale, sound effects, and objects to handle. We saw one of the two school parties busy re-enacting laundry and boot boy tasks, and having a great time in the Laundry...one of several rooms laid out as it would have been in Victorian times.

The Bredon Hill Hoard is amazing, set in the context of a display on money. It's well lit and displayed so that small children on foot can see, too. The story of the hoard's burial and discovery is simply explained....together with a Roman coin rubbing activity for those who want to take home a very personal momento. (Nothing about Bitcoins yet though...is this the next development in this display should it become permanent?)

The café was moderately busy, the food and coffee good , and the service friendly and welcoming. We didn't have to wait long for our meal or afternoon tea. (Our museum visit was a long one, (10 - 4.30pm)...but that's because we have the leisure to read every notice!

We hope to return to some of the activities planned for later in the year, and to see the Public Rooms in the Castle (opening from 1st April).

One worry...the toilets (very clean) are outside, so be sure and visit before going in!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A lovely place to visit even for just a few hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Called in here ( Mothering Sunday ) just for a few hours, worth going just to see the fantastic gypsy caravans here, helpful staff and interesting displays which change throughout the year. Bit disappointed with the cafe, they were struggling to cope.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
museummanager, Manager at Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Hi Amanda B. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to the County Museum this weekend. We were a little busier this Sunday that we had predicted so unfortunately it looks as if things would have been a little smoother if we had booked an extra member of staff for the Cafe (and if the fire alarm hadnt gone off!). Rest assured we will be booking extra cafe staff for all Mothers and Fathers Days events in the future. We hope to see you agian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle also viewed

Harvington, Worcestershire
Kidderminster, Worcestershire
 
Great Witley, Worcestershire
 

Been to Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worcestershire County Museum at Hartlebury Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.