We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Benjamin's

Benjamin's
458 Philadelphia St, Indiana, PA 15701-3927
724-465-4446
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 88 restaurants in Indiana
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband & I took my son here before his graduation from IUP. We had a short time span to eat, because we needed to be at graduation by a certain time. Larry guaranteed us we would be served quickly and he was true to his word. Thank you Larry. We ate outside on the patio and the atmosphere was perfect. Our service was quick and our server was very attentive. I had been to Benjamins for lunch previously and enjoyed their lunch menu. Our reservations were for 11:30am, but the menu we were given was different from their typical lunch menu. There were NO sandwiches, wraps, or lunch items of any kind. Instead the limited menu was comprised of VERY HIGH PRICED dinner entrees. At 11:30 in the morning, we were not looking to spend $30 each on a heavy meal. When I questioned the menu, I was told it was a "special graduation menu". We were very disappointed in this, since this was not mentioned when I made the reservation. The only item which was "lighter" was a green salad with chicken. We all ordered this, although it would not have been our first choice. The salad was good, but could have had more chicken for the price. I wish we had known about this menu change before making reservations, because we would have went elsewhere. Other than that, the restaurant was great!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    31
    22
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lockport, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Truly enjoyed my first visit to Benjamin's. Ordered the salmon rare. It was perfect! Had a Yard's beer and that too was fabulous.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana pa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A charming restaurant with great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Benjamin's ranks along with Grapevine as one of the area's finest restaurants. Most entrees are well prepared and delicious and the service is always excellent.
the outdoor patio with tables under grape vined arbors are a favorite. unfortunately there are only so many of them but there is quite a big of other outdoor seating. And if there isn't the actual restaurant is a charming old house very tastefully decorated. It's cozy. Most of the food is very good. And you'll be hard pressed to get better service.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not your typical restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This isn't your typical restaurant. It's a remodeled house with various rooms/decors. The food is always good. The outdoor patio is especially pleasant during the summer.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Hills, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Marvelous Homemade Soups”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Benjamin's is our latest stop for lunch while in Indiana PA. The lunch hour is only open until 1:30pm - then they reopen for dinner at 4:30.
They had two luncheon soup specials - a tortilla soup that had excellent herbs and slight amount of spice. The Roasted Red Pepper and Tomato Bisque soup was beautifully flavored, was a great consistency for a bisque and you could taste both the pepper and the tomato - Excellent! There was two of us and we each had a sandwich with our bowl of soup - was more than enough food.
The general atmosphere is very relaxed, very welll decorated, wait staff was very friendly and attentive. The do have an outside courtyard area to enjoy lunch under the trees.
For the two of us I would say the lunch was moderately priced, including our flavored ice tea our total bill was $24.00.
We will definetly be returning for an evening meal - many great sounding chef creations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benjamin's also viewed

 

Been to Benjamin's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Benjamin's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.