We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mug House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mug House Inn to your Saves list
Mug House Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   12 Severnside North, Bewdley DY12 2EE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Bewdley B&B and Inns
Bexley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great friendly place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

stayed one night on business where i had the Lavender room that was a good size with en suite shower wc. There was a fridge that contained complimentary bottles of water plus a small bottle of fresh milk for tea. The room was nice & clean with good fittings although the tv was a tad dated but it did have a digi box so all freeview channels were available. I had dinner in the restaurant that was very good plus drinks in the excellent pub area. I would say this place would be great for a weekend with nice walks along the river etc. All in all great value for money will book again the next time Im in the area.

Room Tip: A room with a river view would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    29
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
56
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We recently stayed at The Mug House for two nights during the week. The location of the hotel was perfect, right on the riverbank, and it was full of rustic charm and period features. Think oak beams and log fires. The room (Apple Blossom) was clean, tidy and full of lovely little touches - fresh milk in the fridge, for example. It was tucked away in the attic above a cosy residents' lounge, and was warm and comfortable with a good shower and extra pillows and blankets available. The staff were friendly and helpful and the bar homely and welcoming. We ate in the restaurant on the first night and were so impressed we went straight back for the second night. Loads of choice and the food was stunning. I can totally recommend the cheeseboard too!

Room Tip: Don't put your water glass on the bedside table - the floors are so wonderfully wonky that it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I went to the Mug House on Sunday 18th November. I found the atmosphere warm and friendly. We were allowed to take our dog into the bar area. The service was very good. Bewdley has to be one of the best places in the world. The setting outside of the pub is perfect, as the river Severn flows by you can feed the swans and ducks and watch the pigeons having the odd punch up. A proper English pub.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just stayed at the Mug House, its the perfect setting on the river. It gets booked very quickly we have stayed before. The staff cant do enough to help you, very friendly. Typical old country pub, Saturday afternoons with a pint of guiness by the side of the river with friends. It honestly does not get any better than this. Clean rooms ( if a little old fashioned, the knitted lady on the toilet rolls had us in hysterics) but comfortable enough. We love it.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the pub part, we had a room in the cottage next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Very quaint inn right next to the river. Very friendly & helpful staff. We stayed in a very quaint 4 poster Rose suite, with cottage garden decor & log fire. The room was clean , comfortable &quaint with a selection of teddy bears to keep us company. We had a bar snack at the inn, which was delicious & good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Booked at short notice and the staff could not have been more attentive. Food in the 'Angry Chef' excellent and the atmosphere very congenial. The room was clean, well appointed and comfy with a couple of quirky bits such as a sloped floor and hidden pictures. A wonderful view of the river from bedroom 'Cottage 2'. Overall great value for money. Thank you for a great night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

we stopped off in bewdley on our way to shrewsbury, lovely warm , cosy inn, beautiful bedroom , daffodil,large room with a little nook for a sofa, lovely location right on the river, very friendly staff and a really hearty breakfast. loved it !!

Room Tip: didnt see the others but "daffodil" is lovely, cosy and comfortable with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mug House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mug House Inn

Address: 12 Severnside North, Bewdley DY12 2EE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bewdley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mug House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Worcestershire and Shropshire borders alongside the river Severn sits the picturesque town of Bewdley, known for its Georgian architecture and quaint black and white cottages. A warm and friendly welcome will always await you at The Mug House Bewdley's finest Riverside Inn and AA Rosette Restaurant. Where you can also take the opportunity to extend your visit by staying in our AA 4 star highly commended bed and breakfast accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mug House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mug House Hotel Bewdley
Mug House Inn Bewdley, Worcestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mug House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.