We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mug House Inn & Angry Chef Restaurant

The Mug House Inn & Angry Chef Restaurant
12 Severnside North, Bewdley DY12 2EE , England
+44 1299 402543
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Bewdley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Nestled on the Worcestershire and Shropshire borders alongside the river Severn sits the picturesque town of Bewdley, known for its Georgian architecture and quaint black and white cottages, with stunning Riverside frontage. Alongside the seemingly tranquil River on the north side of Bewdley bridge, you will find us at The Mug House Inn, Bewdley's finest River view Inn and AA Rosette Restaurant. Where you can also take the opportunity to extend your visit by staying in our Riverside bed and breakfast accommodation. A warm and friendly welcome will always await you when you wander into this wonderful old Inn. The Mug House is the perfect platform after a good nights rest in the AA 4 star B&B accommodation for those exhilarating walks along the River to see, hear and take in the panoramic views and wildlife in and around Bewdley. Other attractions include the Severn Valley Railway, which continues to Kidderminster and Bridgnorth. Slightly further a field is the city of Worcester and the Malvern Hills in Worcestershire
Northants
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Took my partners parents here for lunch on Saturday 9th March. Two had the carrot and coriander soup which they said was very good, nice portion and warm crusty bread. We all plumped for the 5oz steak from the 555 menu as this was recommended by another diner. Steak was cooked to perfection with lovely crispy chips. The only downside was that I ordered salad with mine which they smothered in dressing so I would recommend that if you don't want dressing to inform them when ordering. Served a good real ale. Would go again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    40
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great food and drink at excellent prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited the mug house as two couples on a sunny Saturday lunchtime and we were all very pleased with both the high standard of the lunch food that we all had and also the quality of the drinks selection, which included some quality real ales and an excellent draught cider.

The £5.55 lunch menu is outstanding value for the portion sizes and quality of food presented to us. Two party members had the beer battered fish, one the scampi and 1 sausage and eggs and all of the dishes were superb, served piping hot and with excellent accompaniments.

The beer garden is a great and well sheltered sun trap with a relaxed atmosphere and lots of seating and the inside of the bar is also very comfortable with both regular tables and also a good comfortable sofa area.

The only small gripe I would have is that it was quite busy and so getting served at the bar (where you have to order both food and drink) took quite some time, but the wait was well worth it! Perhaps a roaming waiter or waitress to take food orders at the tables inside and out would not be a bad idea, especially on a busy lunchtime?

One big point to note, the mug house is both child and dog friendly which I always feel adds to a great atmosphere and a good mix of people.

Overall though, great food and drink, excellent location on the river front and we will be returning very soon, so very deserving of a 5 rating.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great quality food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Visited on a Monday lunch time with family. I had sausage, egg and chips and everyone else had the ham platter. Lovely quality food - could not fault it! I had a hot chocolate afterwards with cream and marshmallows which was yummy! Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thame, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant Setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Visited the Angry Chef on a very wet, very cold Saturday lunchtime in January. We arrived early for our booking just get inside. The welcome was hospitable with an open fire, cosy sofa & daily papers. My Eggs en Cocette starter was excellent, the eggs perfect & the whole thing cheesy. I'm still undecided about my main course - the mussels - the accompanying white wine sauce & chips were tasty but the mussels themselves tasted a bit odd, I wondered if they were off. However I didn't say anything at the time & I suffered no ill after effects so I'll give them the benefit of the doubt! The sky was brightening by the end of the main course so we skipped pudding.
It seems to be a popular place, it was full on the lunchtime we visited. And the setting next to the river is superb.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bewdley
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One of the best "Boozers" in Bewdley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Have been a fairly frequent Visitor to this Pub for some years and can honestly say that the quality of the beer and atmosphere is always fantastic.Warm, cosy fires in winter and superb outside space and riverside views weather permitting.
Chef/Host/Patron Drew is always friendly and amusing (well he makes me laugh anyway!) and is ably supported by great staff.
Food is well up to best standards and its always a pleasure.
Look forward to opening time! Hic.... ha ha.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mug House Inn & Angry Chef Restaurant also viewed

Bewdley, Worcestershire
 
Bewdley, Worcestershire
Bewdley, Worcestershire
 

Been to The Mug House Inn & Angry Chef Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mug House Inn & Angry Chef Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.