On arrival we were met by staff with no real customer service, we found our own way in to the bar area to await the rest of our party. The place looked like it could do with a good cleaning. A dog (called Dave apparently) was wandering around our feet as we sat, then the poor thing knocked over some breakable item smashing it. And the owner's comments when we asked for the dog to stop hoovering in our bags was 'come on Dave, not everyone loves you.' Really? No - we love dogs, just not idiot owners who think a dog wandering loose in a bistro is ok. Are you kidding me?
When we all finally sat down and managed to get drinks ordered it was then a full 20 minutes before we were asked for food orders. We waited at least 30 minutes before we were served food. And to be honest the food wasn't that wonderful. There was a nice selection of veg, roast potatoes were fine, the roast beef was pretty tough and quite thickly cut. Simply, at £11.95 it was overpriced for a Sunday roast.
We weren't that impressed by the cleanliness in the place, the stair carpet was utterly filthy. And whilst the people serving were lovely and polite, and I do fully understand the freedom for everyone to dress fashionably, I really don't think the waiter, with a hole in his shirt, the shirt not tucked in, and the underwear showing over the trousers is a particularly good look for work.
If you own or manage The Bailiff's House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.