We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Forester

Save Saved
You added The Royal Forester to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Royal Forester
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Callow Hill, Bewdley DY13 9XW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Bewdley B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We absolutely loved our weekend stay at the Royal Forrester - the rooms had clearly just been renovated, and the large bath was great. The breakfasts included were of a really high standard and Max couldn't do enough for us. Thoroughly recommend staying here and particularly recommend the food - thank you for a great break.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    28
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
22
70
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
buckinghamshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I treated my boyfriend to a weekend away for his 40th to this little pub. It is a lovely little place, good atmosphere, lovely staff and lovely room. We stayed two nights in the gooseberry room ,which we both found very homely and welcoming.

We both had a relaxing night sleep in a good sized comfortable room and bed. The bathroom was lovely just a shame there was no window to let all the steam out.

We ate in the restaurant the first night and it was absolutely lovely. We could not fault the food and the waitress was friendly and accommodating.

We both had breakfast two mornings and it was fresh, appetising with a good selection of food. We both opted for a cooked breakfast that filled the spot. We did not realise on the Monday morning that breakfast was only served till 10.00am and we did not come down till about 10.20am to be informed breakfast had finished. The waitress was so lovely and said it was no problem and we could stil have a cooked breakfast each, which was so kind of her.

I would definitely come back in the summer as there are some lovely walks and see more of Bewdley and the town centre. Be nice to see what the other rooms are like.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Olde worlde charm meets contemporary chic
Wonderful rooms, luxurious bathroom, large screen, modern tv on wall, cabt fault it.
Restaurant is fine dining which was not to our liking personally but was of high standard if you like that sort of thing. Carrot coriander and orange soup tasted only of the orange thus was bitter...very strange combination!
Dessert was tasty but literally 3 mouthfuls unfortunately.
However, this only deters us from eating in the restaurant; we would definitely stay again at this wonderful little haven :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just arrived home after a lovely stay, I must admit my first impression wasn't brilliant - I didn't like the carpets or the rail hanging but the room (Pear) was perfectly clean,warm and cosy. The power shower was brilliant. We were also at the back of the building no great view but quieter than at the front I imagine.

What marks this place up is the food and service, Jack was very friendly and welcoming on arrival and he quickly fixed our fused lights, the staff serving food were also very good,lovely girl served us breakfast. The food was delicious, great breakfast freshly made, could have done with some fresh fruit. The second night we ate in the restaurant (I wish we had eaten here the first night aswell) the venison was the best we have ever had. We also had very nice cheese and biscuits between us but they gave us two glasses of port!!

Would recommend this pub and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset, uk
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I booked a two night break at The Forester Inn 6 months in advance of our stay.
Good journey from Somerset and greeted by Max who showed us to our room - The Plum Room. There is no wardrobe in the room only a rail with hangers over the fridge and kettle. We couldnt understand why there was a fridge in the room as just seemed out of place and not needed and would have given us plenty on hanging room (depth) for our clothes.
No dressing table as such - see pictures.
The decor is a little tired and marks on the wall and carpet. The bed was reasonably comfortable but pillows so hard we both ended up with a sore neck in the morning. We had requested a quiet room as I am a light sleeper so were not too happy to be woken by guests leaving the pub (our room was over the main entrance).
The plumbing in our room just couldnt cope and we ended up with a small bath of water whilst showering. Sink filled up when cleaning our teeth and slowly seeped away and flush on toilet poor. Not able to use the mirror in the bathroom as the extractor fan was broken - we pointed this out to the owner the next morning - reply yes I am aware of this - would have been nice to have told us when checking in or putting us in another room - hence we had to leave our window open all the time to clear the bathroom and freshen the room.
Breakfast on both mornings was very good as was the service.
We ate in the restaurant on the second night and ordered the self carvery (Sunday is roast dinner all day and no other options available) - the beef was very tender and good selection of veg - cost is £14.99 per person.
Plenty of parking in the car park. As guests you can enter via the side door rather than go through the pub.
We cannot fault the food or the service but very disappointed with the room and sleep quality.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Plum room - as mentioned needs maintenance and over the main entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a wonderful stay here this week. The room was lovely, the evening meal and wine delicious and one of the nicest breakfast I have had in a long time, especially the mushroom. The staff are really friendly and the place has a lovely warm, cosy feeling. Would recommend staying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel as part of a kgb deal. 1st impression as we arrived was a lovely homely place with a pub/restaurant which was very cosy and inviting. We stayed in the cherry room which is at the front looking out onto the A road. It was noisey which could be a problem for guests but nothing the hotel can really do about it as someone has to stay there. Room was nice and big. We eat in the restaurant on both nights which we dont normally do. As the food was excellent. Also loved the restaurant surroundings. Food was reasonable priced aswell. Staff friendly at all times. Would stay here again. Just a pity the weather was bad for the time we stayed here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Royal Forester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Forester

Address: Callow Hill, Bewdley DY13 9XW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bewdley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Forester 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Royal Forester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Forester Hotel Bewdley
The Royal Forester Bewdley, Worcestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Forester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.