We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good dining experience!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chimichanga - New Brighton

Chimichanga - New Brighton
4 Marine Point | Kings Parade, New Brighton CH45 2PB , England
0151 6381568
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 30 Restaurants in New Brighton
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good dining experience!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I'm amazed at the amount of negative comments posted by reviewers of this restaurant! I have dined here twice with my family and unless I've been exceptionally lucky I have had the most satisfying dining experiences on both occasions. I have found the staff to be courteous, friendly and efficient and contrary to other comments, we didn't wait too long for our meals to be served. I can personally recommend the rib eye steak which is the best I have tasted for a long, long time. Ok the meals might be a bit a bit pricey and the decor/ambience not to everyone's taste but the quality of the food is second to none.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    60
    38
    33
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

you can find really nice lunch deals there. And you will have nice meal with drinks for a good price. There is nice view, Staff is friendly. There is also free wifi for those who need conection into internet.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Might go back after bowling or the cinema, but definitely not for a 'meal out'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I went to Chimichanga for a meal and a catch-up with a few girlfriends. I'd heard good comments about the place, and the atmosphere was lively, so I thought we were in for a great night. Hmmm..

Setting and views were fabulous; small bar, 10 minute wait; small tables, not enough stools in the bar area; table was reserved, we still waited half an hour to sit down; tasty food, small portions; serving staff friendy, service slow; reasonably priced house wine, acidic.

If you want good Mexican food, can I recommend Thomasina Miers' cookery books instead?

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Need to employ more staff, service terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

First visit & I won't be back as many friends & family have had the same experience on their visits.
Our table wasn't ready so told to wait at the bar it took 20 minutes to be served. one bar man doing everything drinks for tables, drinks at bar, bills for tables, changing barrels. Felt sorry for him but we shouldn't have waited that long, more staff should gave been helping him.
When we approached the manager, rather than being apologetic he quite rudely said well I can get you drinks or sort your table, your decision. (good customer service NOT).
Once seated we had our order taken but then we saw no member of staff again to Order more drinks so kept having to go up to the bar itself, it was a joke.
The food was average at best.
Prezzo next door is owned by the same company but is a far better dining experience.
Save your money go elsewhere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Bad Bad bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

horrible atmosphere, rubbish layout, overpriced food and apalling service , can't waste any more words on the place

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimichanga - New Brighton also viewed

 
New Brighton, Wirral
 

Been to Chimichanga - New Brighton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chimichanga - New Brighton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.