We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not quite great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Tree Bistro

The Olive Tree Bistro
78 Victoria Road, New Brighton, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 27 Restaurants in New Brighton
Cuisines: Continental
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but not quite great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

A Thursday evening visit before a show at the local theatre. A pre theatre choice was available at £10.45 with 4 or 5 choices of starter & main. Good value and food fine. Service, drinks, cleanliness good but somehow just fell a little short of what I expected. Certainly worth a visit if in the area and I would go again.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    48
    13
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Poor service. Mediocre meal.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Despite having booked for a pre-theatre meal earlier in the week we were given the worst table in the place. The staff could hardly speak to us and certainly never smiled once. We seemed to be a bit of an inconvenience to them! When the food finally arrived, it was mediocre at best. The batter on the fish was awful and the whole thing was just stodgy.
No-one even said goodbye as we left!
We certainly won't be back. There are lots of other very good restaurants in New Brighton. Watch out Olive Tree. We won't be recommending anyone to come to you. Wish we'd eaten at the Floral Pavilion as we almost did!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne W, Owner at The Olive Tree Bistro, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us.

In response to your feedback, I am sorry you did not like the table you were given. Due to a popular show at the Pavilion, we have been very busy all week and pretty much fully booked. We do not allocate ‘the best’ tables first, as it all depends on the size and timings of other bookings that come in. I would like to point out we are only a small restaurant with a good table plan and have never had a complaint about this in the past. If you were to return in the future, with any specific requests, we will always do our very best to meet your requirements.

I am surprised and disappointed at your comments regarding the quality of food and service. I would really like to take the opportunity to discuss this with you in more detail, as you have felt that it warrants a 'terrible' rating. In fact, this is the first we have ever received in the four years we have been trading. Please send your contact details to theolivetree@hotmail.co.uk.

We take all feedback seriously, as our goal is to provide only the best food with exceptional service which we have won awards for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Brighton's hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stumbled across this bistro - we were visiting the Floral Pavillion theatre for the first time. What a find! We enjoyed dinner from the pre-theatre menu which was fabulous. Great atmosphere, delightful service and tremendous value for money. Will definitely be visiting again in the near future. Highly recommended!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne W, Owner at The Olive Tree Bistro, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thanks for your review your feedback is appreciated by the Team at The Olive Tree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great local eatery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I've been going here for years and never had a bad meal. Although the basic menu seems to have stayed the same for some time (which is a shame) the specials change and offer some very delicious cooking. The owners are passionate about what they do and work really hard to make your experience a good one. Service is attentive and friendly and prices very good. Even though New Brighton has changed since the Olive Tree opened and there is a lot more choice, this restaurant easily hold its own amongst the growing competition. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leanne W, Owner at The Olive Tree Bistro, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Hi thanks for taking the time to review us. We are glad you enjoy visiting the Olive Tree and your feedback is appreciated.
We do spend a lot of time and energy on our specials boards to make sure there are new and exciting dishes on there each week but thought I would let you know that we are in fact in the process of finalising our new menu so will hopefully see you soon to sample it

Leanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have now visited this Bistro several times. On every occasion we have been pleased with the choice of food. The range of food varies from light bites to full evening meals. There is also a 'Specials' board every day plus a good wine list. It is advisable to book as The Olive Tree is very popular. The staff are very attentive and will always accommodate any special requests if required.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Tree Bistro also viewed

 
New Brighton, Wirral
 

Been to The Olive Tree Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Tree Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.