We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Merseyside dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peninsula Dining Room

Peninsula Dining Room
3 Grosvenor Road , New Brighton | Wirral, New Brighton CH45 2LW, England
+44 151 639 8338
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in New Brighton
Price range: $39 - $62
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are committed to providing first class food and service and believe that our approach gives our guests the best dining experience on the Wirral
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Good Merseyside dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This restaurant offers excellent food combined with attentive, knowledgable staff. They are friendly without without being intrusive.

It's a great addition to dining on Merseyside and people should try it because I did and am now a regular

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia G, Owner at Peninsula Dining Room, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding the restaurant, they are much appreciated and a great encouragement to all involved.

Sylvia Gray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    26
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good, but not as good as they think”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've visited a couple of times and ended up feeling that the team here are too wrapped in themselves, how special they are and how hard they work
Some nice touches like flavoured butter and breads etc, but last time I had tempura vegetables, and the batter wasn't tempura at all - more like dark brown chip shop batter that left puddles of oil on the plate. The chips were reheated and floopy and dark brown too.
To have mentioned it would have created a stink, I just know it, and really, do chefs need to be given feedback on basics such as that?
I end up feeling that it's average stuff with a gloss of high end "cheffiness"
Sorry, I want to be upbeat as there's something about PDR that I like, but it's the food that matters

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We have only been here once and it was exceptional but it is extremely pricey for what you get and in the surrounding. However the price would not stop me from going again or recommending.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best dining experience in New Brighton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We always look forward to dining in the evening here, the menu is varied, seasonal and changes often. Ranging from great comfort food to something a little more experimental, I don't think we've ever had the same dish twice. The service is welcoming and friendly and the wine list has been greatly improved and expanded since opening. The fact that it's just down the road makes it very hard to stay away.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Went few weeks ago for 3rd time, and won't go again. Agree with menmeluv.. it's just too expensive for what it is, it looks good, mainly, but the flavour is even below ok at times. Occasionally it's very nice. But you expect some exceptional taste and flavours given the pretentious menu and obvious ambition of the chef. In the last meal, some of the potato based elements were obviously re-fried and the result was dry and hard. I'm not stupid - I know pre-prepared and over cooked food when I get it. Spend your hard earned cash on a same price meal in Liverpool is my advice. Good decor and the staff are ok, but I can't help thinking the other reviews that say the chef/staff turned nasty is probably bang on the mark. If you don't praise everything when they come over, they seem to get huffy. The chef wouldnt last the 1st few rounds on masterchef because they don't seem to understand - serious foodies want flavour over presentation. And some of the portions are ridiculously small!! That said, I tried 3 times because I did enjoy certain things like the meat - that's always cooked brilliantly. But the rest lets you down. One too many times for me being disappointed, so I won't go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvia G, Owner at Peninsula Dining Room, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Contacted this reviewer requesting dates in order to investigate their complaints.
They advised they were unable to supply dates as these went back to Jan / Feb this year, although in their review they intimated they had visited a month or so ago.
Taking this into account, it is obviously impossible for us to investigate and answer their complaint with any accuracy, more than TEN months later.
I leave it to others to make their own judgement, but on behalf of the Manager and Team at Peninsula Dining Room, this matter is now closed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peninsula Dining Room also viewed

 
New Brighton, Wirral
 

Been to Peninsula Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peninsula Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.