We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value,” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Churchill

The Churchill
Swindon Road, Royal Wootton Bassett SN4 8ET , England
01793 849848
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Value,”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

good value for money, nice size portions, smiling and helpful staff, eat at your lesuire you dont feel rushed as those they want you gone ready for the next customer,

my personal opinion with the daily specials, they had run out of a couple of the main courses, which was disappointing, I think they should remove menu, instead of telling you wants no longer available

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank You for leaving a review.

As you can imagine - The specials here are very popular and we do change them every couple of days to keep up with demand.

We look forward to your next visit so you can try some of our other specials.

Best Wishes Paul & The Churchill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    69
    47
    28
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Many good visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have been several times to The Churchill, at various times of day and have always enjoyed the atmosphere, the food and the service. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving a review of your regular experiences at The Churchill.

Is always great to read that our guests enjoy there experience and want to return regular.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best Wishes Paul & The Churchill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Prompt reasonable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

4 adults and a newborn stopped by for lunch and we were had a really cheery welcoming waitress ..Our food arrived very quickly and tasted delicious .It was reasonably priced costing £42 pound for 4 meals and drinks . My salmon was cooked perfectly. There is a very extensive choice on menu.A good family restaurant .

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

Its always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoy what we offer here at The Churchill, We pride ourselves in offering families a place to come and relaxed in modern surroundings.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best Wishes Paul & The Churchill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Second visit as good as the last”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Churchill is only a short distance from the M4 and ideal stopping off place.
It was a busy friday evening but the service was prompt and friendly. The food was great and washed down with a fine ale. Perfect we will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for leaving the time in leaving a review

Its always a pleasure to read that our guests enjoy our offering.

We look forward to welcoming you back again real soon

Best wishes Paul & The Churchill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
1 review
“Only caters fpor the majority”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

After visiting for a meal with friends I was pleasently supprised to find they catered for Gluten/Wheat intolorences, however taking a closer look at the menu it gave a choice of just one dish, even iceceam at the Chuchill has wheat in it aparently. So if you have any kind of food alergies I would steer clear of here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul H, Manager at The Churchill, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in leaving a review.

I was very surprised to read your review as at The Churchill we have a fast selection for Gluten free guests.

We do stock GF Bread and also offer a choice of 4 starters 7 main courses 4 snack & lightbites and a number of desserts as our icecream is free of gluten.

Quite alot of our guests visit us because we cater for glutens so well.

I hope to welcome you back soon, so i can personally talk you through our menus and help you choose an appropriate meal.

Best Wishes

Paul & The Churchill Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Churchill also viewed

Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Churchill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Churchill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.