We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a great takeaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ganges

Ganges
147 High Street, Royal Wootton Bassett, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Proprietor: Mr Sayedul Siddiqui
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food and a great takeaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I've been using this restaurant and takeaway service since it opened about 10 years ago.I was there with friends earlier in the week and I'm pleased to report that their initially high standards have been maintained.

You always get good food, a prompt friendly service, in a modern decorated restaurant at reasonable prices - what more can you want?

Their take away service is equally good and I've rarely been kept waiting more than three minutes when I make a pickup.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    19
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, Wilts
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great for 1st Time Indian Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you have never had an Indian Meal before, this is the place to go. Talk to the very friendly staff and they will guide you through their extensive menue to ensure you have an experience to remember.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is my local restaurant and take away, I visit every few weeks. Food is always good and staff are polite and professional.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“On a Monday quiet but beautiful food and great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Great food and service, shame about shared bathroom facilities but on the whole very nice and fabulous value for money.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“As good as Spice of Asia but not as near to me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is another favourite of our family as the food always tastes great, the service is spot on and the portions always on the larger side. The owner is a very nice chap and his son gets on well with one of my sons ( still don't get discount though ).

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ganges also viewed

Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
Royal Wootton Bassett, Wiltshire
 

Been to Ganges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ganges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.