We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing place for a short visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Chalfield Manor

Great Chalfield Manor
Off B3107, Melksham SN12 8NJ, England
+44 1225 782239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Melksham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing place for a short visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Good job we had some cash on us as that is all they take. Expecting to pay £20 for family but lady told us kids were free so cost £16 for us two adults. The guide was pleasant and the tour was very interesting. Only disappointment was that the tour lasted 35 mins and not 45 mins but told we could not go into one room because it was being re-decorated. Not sure if the kids go free was related to the shortened length of tour. The masks are extraordinary and unique and made the visit worth it as never seen anything like it before. The gardens are delightful. The help yourself tea, coffee and biscuits are unusual but make the visit a little different. Visit lasted about 2 hrs at most.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    6
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stunning house but misses an opportunity”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We visited this property alongside The Courts Garden (2.5 miles away). We would recommend doing both as they would take the same time as a large National Trust Property.

Unfortunately the literature did not make it clear that you can only see the house via a guided tour. These happen every hour and the last one on the day we visited was at 4pm. We therefore only got to see the gardens.

The gardens are lovely and have a great deal of potential but do need some work.
It is lovely to see gardens that are not perfectly manicured but there were some areas that needed attention when you are showing a property that will be attended by people who may well be there to specifically see the gardens.

I think that this property needs some specific attention from the National Trust to ensure that all aspects of the experience live up to their standards.

The house did look lovely but that tour will have to wait for another day.

Please note there is no formal parking so you have to park in the lane leading up to the property.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“A little over rated but worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

In my view, although the guided tour makes the visit worthwhile, it is best combined with other National Trust properties in the local area because the gardens are only average as far as NT properties go. We were told that there was going to be some filming in the near future, so the grass was not being mowed. Our guide was knowledgeable, and gave us a good talk. We were not allowed to take any photographs inside the house.

Next to the house there was a church that we were allowed to take pictures in. We are in the National Trust so we did not have to pay for visiting this property, but if I was having to pay full price I would have been slightly disappointed.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“If you love good gardening - don't go.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

What a shock. And so it was when I observed to the house guide that for a property in the hands of the National Trust since 1943 the garden's were a disgrace an way, way below the standards you would expect. The fact that they are worked on by a couple and one gardener speaks volumes. Bedraggled flower beds, roses in the need of dead heading, lawns let run loose, ponds and lakes overgrown - I could go on.

The house can only be visited in groups with a guide and it is definitely not for those who are less than fleet of foot. No cafe adds to the negative.

As a dedicated National Truster it was not a happy experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“House visit”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I think that a National trust property should be more organised. Visited this week to look around house, arrived just too late for the morning tour and was advised to return just before 2pm for the next tour. When I did so told that the 2pm tour was fully booked and could therefore only access the gardens. Would have been good to have been advised that this might happen so that could have booked ticket in advance

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Great Chalfield Manor also viewed

 
Lacock, Wiltshire
Corsham, Wiltshire
 

Been to Great Chalfield Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Chalfield Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.