We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, cosy B&B in idyllic location. Great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Forge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Forge
Save
You added The Old Forge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   East Kennet, Marlborough SN8 4EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Marlborough B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Comfy, cosy B&B in idyllic location. Great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Old Forge for the solstice weekend and had a fantastic time. This wasn't our first time to the area but it was our first time at the B&B and had a lovely stay. Leslie and Laura were friendly, professional and accomodating, offering advice on local walks and providing us with a great breakfast.

We stayed in the double room with it's own access which was great for coming and going at our leisure, and added a touch of privacy which was very welcome.

Ignore the other reviews - the accomodation was spotless! Furnished to a high standard with a super comfy bed. Also there was so minimal noise from upstairs but only to be expected. Certainly not disruptive.

Thank you for a lovely time. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The private access to the downstairs rooms was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
38
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at the Old Forge for 2 nights and had a super time. I have 2 little girls and Laura was so attentive in helping with our needs for little ones, putting up travel cots and offering food and snacks that they like. Leslie was great too, like a walking encyclopaedia of the area! We found the rooms lovely and clean, very comfy beds and pillows with stylish decor. Highly recommended and we can't wait to come and stay again later in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We spent three nights at the Old Forge. Leslie was very welcoming and attentive to our needs. We had the twin room with its own entrance and it was very comfortable. We both slept well. There were four choices of breakfast. I had the continental which was more than adequate for fuelling busy days in the outdoors. The house is very close to all of the ancient Neolithic sites around Avebury and we enjoyed a great circular walk of these on our last day. Two nights we ate five minutes' drive away at the Waggon and Horses. The menu was varied and the food well cooked. All in all we very much enjoyed our stay at the Old Forge and have already recommended it to friends who are visiting the area.

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a kitchenette if you are looking to organise your own food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Not much accommodation around this area - we used this as a base to see Avebury. Quiet area, good location, our room was clean and comfortable and we had our own kitchen as well. Creaky floorboards above meant it was quite noisy and we could hear the people talking (late into the night!). Parking across the road. Owners were a bit more distant than we have experienced in other B&B's especially with regards local sightseeing advice. Good Breakfast.

Room Tip: Our room (with own kitchen, only 1 in premises) was very noisy from upstairs people, creaking floorb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the old forge for a long weekend. The location was excellent especially as the bridge on the road was shut reducing the traffic to nothing.
Leslie was very chatty and helpful, while Laura didn't seem to notice we were there.
The rooms were Average, everything you expect for a b&b. We stayed in the room with the small kitchen.
The whole room would benefit from a very good spring clean with thick dust everywhere out of eyes view. The bathroom smelt very damp and had some real plumbing issues!
The breakfasts were very good and the location wonderful, but if you want top dollar for your rooms you need to try abit harder.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Nice room, good décor and location. Shame I had such a poor nights sleep caused by hearing every word, footstep and incessant snoring (!) of the people lodging above me.
Bed was on the firm side (but of a decent size) as were the pillows.
Also, found breakfast room locked at 7.50am.....you will not get served before 8.00pm, which might not suit some.
Good location near to Neolithic site of Avebury.....a must see site!

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor room as there is little in the way of noise insulation between the floors. My sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldforgesn84ey, Owner at The Old Forge, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We do try to be flexible with guests wanting early breakfast & offer a continental breakfast in guests rooms. All rooms have fridges, toasters & kettles. Guests can choose from fruit, yoghurts, a selection of cereals, toast, jam marmalade etc all of which are put in the rooms the previous evening so guests can have breakfast at whatever time suits them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CROYDON
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

My Wife, Mother in Law and myself spent the night at The Old Forge on 04/05/'13 prior to walking the Sarsen Trail. Before check in we soaked in the atmosphere in nearby Avebury which has a spectacular set of Neolithic stones and an all round quaint feel. We checked in to The Old Forge where Leslie showed us to our respective rooms where we were really amazed at the decor and layout of the rooms and we had a comfortable and rested night prior to our walk on Sunday. We hope to stay at The Old Forge for next year's event.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge

Address: East Kennet, Marlborough SN8 4EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Forge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Forge is a 4 star silver award, charming bed and breakfast in East Kennett a small village in the heart of Wiltshire's prehistoric downland countryside. We are only 1 mile from the world heritage sites of the Avebury Stone circle, Silbury Hill and the West Kennett Long barrow. The house is a beautifully restored former smithy which has been extensively renovated to an extremely high standard. The large bedrooms are stylish and tastefully furnished, with ensuite facilities, TV and are equipped to a high standard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Forge Hotel Marlborough
The Old Forge Marlborough, UK - Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Forge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.