We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle & Ball Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Castle & Ball Hotel to your Saves list
The Castle & Ball Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlborough
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My fiance and I were driving from Whales and needing a place to stay. His father searched and found this gem and booked it for us. We arrived late but the inn keeper was still very sweet and helpful. Our room was so beautiful with an amazing bath. The whole inn has such charm. Breakfast was delicious and had tons to offer. Would love to come here again. The town was perfect for a relaxed day.

Room Tip: We had room #35 and loved it. My fiance loved the automatic lights when he opened the closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for posting some new pictures of the hotel. I am very happy you had a nice stay and I'm sure we will have lots of requests for room 35! If you book again, I would recommend you ask for room 20 or 22 for the total wow factor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    131
    46
    18
    11
See reviews for
51
178
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

A little disappointed perhaps unfairly, took children away for a couple of days to research family history. Got great deal, however the hotel did not quite meet expectations having known it 25 years ago.
Fairly bland décor, not quite what I expected from an historic coaching Inn. My room smelt quite damp and there was a damp patch on the corridor wall. However the room was quite clean with the exception of the wardrobe rail which came down in the middle of the night. I forgot to mention this to reception (room 33 I think.)
Stayed B & B, breakfast was good, super sausages and tasty eggs benedict.
Staff were all friendly and it was very busy. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about the issues with the room, we are now in the process of repairing them. We recently had an extensive refurbishment so I am very disappointed it did not meet your expectations.
I hope you managed to get lots of family history research done, and hopefully you will stay again if you return to Marlborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saundersfoot
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just leaving after a 4 day break at The Castle & Ball ...we stayed in room 20 our friend ,s were in 22 what a fantastic room ,s ..we were very pleased ! Spotlessly clean ! And every thing you could want including a well stocked mini bar ! The staff were FANTASTIC ...Claire on reception on our arrival was very welcoming ! Chelsey was fantastic and gave us loads of information on everything. This is the 4 th time we have stayed at Old English Inns ,and the BEST so far ! All have been fab but Castle & Ball has the best location .breakfast was superb as was lunch and dinner ..Every Staff member in the hotel were exceptiononal and as a hotel should be very proud of them all ....will defanatly be going BACK ..just would like to say also how accommodating they were when my husband was taken ill Thank You

Room Tip: Room 20 was on the front of the hotel with good view of high street ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Well, what can I add! Thank you so much for such a lovely review, 4 days is the perfect amount of time to get out to see the sights, but still be able to relax.
As a team we are all very proud of our Hotel and the chefs love having the food mentioned!
We hope your husband is feeling better and getting ready for another trip to Marlborough.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

What a great room, plenty of room and clean.
This is one of the best places I have stayed in. We booked a twin room, but did not expect a twin with 2 large beds, and an excellent bathroom, with Good full length bath. For size, comfort and cleanliness this is better than many world wide chains.
We had evening meal in the bar which was well cooked bar food. The breakfast was exceptional for an Inn with good service and ample choice.
This is one place I would easily recommend and return to ( room 25).

Room Tip: Book room 25 if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We live in Marlborough, so we only use the Castle and Ball for drinks and the occasional meal. Having said that, the food is always excellent, and the atmosphere is also very warm and friendly. The only complaint I have is that when we visited recently with some friends, we were not allowed to move a couple of tables together, but I guess we should have called ahead and warned that we were a party of 7!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very old, cosy hotel, here you can feel the time passed. Very large rooms - not so usual for UK. Friendly staff, clean rooms, tea equipment at the rooms, hot water and cosy towers - all you could expect from 3*. The only thing - there is no any sound isolation, and you can hear every steps in the corridor and each movement in the next rooms. And don't forget your plugin adapter if you are not from uk!
The pub and restourant in the same building are good and worth to spend an evening near the fireplace. Food is average.

Room Tip: The standard Ron is big enough, no need to order more expensive one if you need a space
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your resent visit to the Castle & Ball, we are all very pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Nigel Forrester General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have always liked old coaching inns and this one has been very tastefully refurbished offering excellent service, good food and some great deals.
The decor is very clever, suiting the property without being fake 'olde worlde'.
All the staff (who clearly work very hard) were on friendly and attentive form under the leadership of a very helpful manager. Our room was very comfortable and an excellent base from which to explore this beautiful market town and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Castle & Ball Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for taking time to complete you feedback, We are realy please you like our refurbishment & you enjoyed your visit to Marlborough. I will share your comments with my team. Many thanks Nigel Forrester General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Castle & Ball Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle & Ball Hotel

Address: High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marlborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle & Ball Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Extensively refurbished early 2012 and situated on Britain’s widest high street, The Castle & Ball has had a fascinating past dating back to the 15th century, with some of the original oak timbers pre-dating the Spanish Armada. The building’s age accounts for some individual features including the splitlevel brasserie-style restaurant. The hotel’s walled Beer Garden at the rear provides a relaxing setting for those looking to enjoy a drink and a meal alfresco-style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Castle & Ball Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Castle And Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel Marlborough, UK - Wiltshire
Castle Ball Marlborough

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle & Ball Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.