We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and peaceful time in small town in the uk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sanctuary

The Sanctuary
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marlborough
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sanctuary
Save
You added The Sanctuary to your Saves list
Ogbourne St.George, Marlborough, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 Marlborough B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful and peaceful time in small town in the uk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Lovely and airy room in small farm house. Great breakfast, lovely space

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
12
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed with Rebecca and Keith at The Sanctuary for the 2nd time in early March. My mother and I had previously had the twin room which was ideal for us. As we booked last minute, this room was already booked. No problem. Rebecca offered to put a single bed into the large double room at no extra cost. Great hospitality, wonderful breakfast - lots of nice little touches which make a difference. Look forward to the next time.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pointe-Claire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at "The Sanctuary" at the end of our first day of walking along "The Ridgeway." We would gladly have stayed longer, as the place was truly excellent. Lovely, modern, large en-suite room. Rebecca and Keith were very welcoming hosts. Fantastic solarium breakfast room and great breakfast. If we were ever in the area again, this would be the place we would book for accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

It's the little touches that make a stay at a B&B a pleasant experience, and this B&B ticked all the boxes for me. Among these, in no particular order, there were 1) Friendly hosts, but not in any way intrusive 2) very spacious clean room and comfortable bed 3) lovely breakfast, especially the marmalade and the perfectly cooked egg (I'm normally hard to please with that one) 4) fresh milk on the tea tray, and little jars with enough tea and coffee and hot chocolate that I didn't feel I'd have to be rationing. 5) good location for all the sites. Plus, you can't beat the sight of chickens wandering past your window in the morning. If these are the sorts of things you like too, I'd definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We can thoroughly recommend The Sanctuary. It is very firendly. The rooms are perfect for our family of 5, very clean and we had 2 bathrooms. The breakfast is superb and we can throughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at many Bed and Breakfasts in England over the years and The Sanctuary is one of the best.

We stayed at the Sanctuary for 5 nights so that we could do some walking on the Ridgeway. They first day there, it poured with rain and so we decided we needed an alternative activity. It was Sunday so some places were closed, but Keith looked up places and opening times for us on the internet and was really helpful. The next day Rebecca drove us to the start of the Ridgeway at no charge so we could walk from Overton hill back to the Sanctuary - about 10 miles. The following day she drove us to another entrance to the Ridgeway in the opposite direction with a very nominal charge so again we walked back to the Sanctuary. This was a wonderful service, as we are past the age for backpacking, and it allowed us to walk through beautiful scenary and thoroughly enjoy ourselves.

Our room was very comfortable and large and we had a TV in the room, the breakfasts were great. The whole family made us feel very welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

Wonderful hospitality from Rebecca and Keith. Our en-suite twin room was newly re-furbished, spacious and spotlessly clean with the most comfortable beds. All the rooms are on the ground floor, so ideal for those who find stairs difficult. The full english breakfast was the best we've eaten for several years (vegetarian option also available).
Overall difficult to find fault, and we'll definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary

Address: Ogbourne St.George, Marlborough, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Marlborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Marlborough
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary is a family-run B&B near Marlborough with a four-star rating from the English Tourist Board. We're praised for the spacious rooms and the quality of our meals, using local produce whenever possible, either from our own garden or local suppliers, all served at attractive prices. We have three spacious and flexible rooms available for our guests, with a good range of facilities for personal or business use. As we provide relaxed and friendly accommodation within a family surrounding, children and dogs are very welcome as well. There is plenty of space for all, and a large garden to sit or play in (especially useful for children if you've been stuck in a car for a while). Ogbourne St.George is in a lovely location in the Og River valley between the Marlborough Downs and Aldbourne Downs, and equidistant from Aldbourne, Chisldeon and Marlborough. It's a favourite stop-over for people walking, cycling or running stages of the Ridgeway Trail that passes through on its way from Ivinghoe Beacon in Buckinghamshire to Overton Hill near Marlborough. You might be staying here to enjoy one of the many activities available, or while you're exploring the rich and varied history of the area. Nearby are many ancient monuments; the most famous of course are Stonehenge and Avebury (which is only 15 minutes away by car) and there are plenty more lesser-known megaliths around as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary Marlborough, UK - Wiltshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sanctuary, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.