We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Evening at the Castle and Ball” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle and Ball

The Castle and Ball
High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ, England
+44 1672515201
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 55 Restaurants in Marlborough
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Evening at the Castle and Ball”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Me and 2 friends dined at the castle and ball last night, and it has been on of the best places I have eaten at in a while. The atmosphere was lovely, with a great big Christmas tree in view as you wall in. The staff were all very friendly and happy to help also. We ate in the restaurant and the menu had plenty of choice for us, including some nice options for my vegetarian friend. The food was fresh and hot, and tasted lovely. All three of us enjoyed our meals.
When the bill came I though it was cheaper than expected too, so it was very good value for money considering the big portions we had.
We all agreed this would be a place we would visit again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    56
    32
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Swansea
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“'Lovely Place with Lovely Food!'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We popped in here for lunch on a Sunday whilst shopping in Marlborough. It was busy and had a lovely atmosphere! The food was lovely and as we ordered from the special lunch menu, the prices were very reasonable too! Very enjoyable!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great stay but pricey for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a cracking place to stay. Right in the centre of Marlborough High Street. An impressive, well presented building with a large, welcoming bar. Looked beautiful with a roaring fire and the start of the Xmas decorations. Bedrooms were large and comfortable and breakfast freshly cooked from a large selection. The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs were very tasty, as were the pains au chocolat! All the staff we encountered were smiley, pleasant and attentive, even when everyone seemed to descend for breakfast at the same time!

Why, therefore, have have I only given an average rating for my stay? Price. Pure and simple. Granted, being in the centre of Marlborough will attract a high price but, I'd have expected a few more frills for the £100 we paid for a standard double bed and breakfast. I'm not asking for the moon on a stick but a couple of small bottles of water, some quality toiletries, better quality biscuits, and towels! Parking was free to guests, which should certainly not be taken for granted, but that's about as far as the frills went. Just a little more attention to details like this would have made this a fantastic stay. If you can get a deal on price, I would definitely recommend staying here.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“no thanks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

found the rooms very overpriced..shabby decor and rubbish tv with no reception to speak of, bathroom was clean and fresh with clean towels. breakfast was average. i would not stay again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

There was a notice on the door when we arrived to say that due to not having a delivery that day there would be no roast dinners but there would be other choices available from the menu. We decided to give it a try anyway and were pleased that we did. The french onion soup to start was very good and the beef and ale pie for main was excellent. I could really taste the ale in the pie which doesn't happen very often. Unfortunately, I couldn't manage a pudding but had a cappucino that was served with a lovely crumbly biscuit. The staff were friendly and the service was very good. I would recommend this place to family and other friends.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castle and Ball also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Castle and Ball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle and Ball, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.