We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as previous visits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Castle and Ball

The Castle and Ball
High Street, Marlborough SN8 1LZ, England
+44 1672515201
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 55 Restaurants in Marlborough
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Looks like portions of menu items smaller than previously. Could do with vegetable portions with meal. Had a banoffee pie at a competitor tonight and was much more a value for money portion compared with my apple pie last night. The staff and service is always good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    56
    32
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have visited this Hotel restaurant for various family occasions. The staff are excellent and friendly but we have noticed the portion sizes have reduced drastically. We have photos of all family events and they clearly show meals and desserts diminishing in size. I don't think you should have to order various side dishes to achieve a decent sized meal. I really hope this improves because we would be sad to go elsewhere. We paid on average 25 pounds a head.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Very good coffee!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Well worth stopping off for a coffee if passing through the High Street. There are tables and chairs outside so you can watch the world go by.... Unfortunately don't offer any cakes or biscuits to have with your drink which is dissappointing - I think they could offer this service easily.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great desserts and quick, good service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My partner and I visited on 28th July for desserts.

Service was quick and friendly. Both of our desserts were very tasty and of good quality.
Prices are fair for this area and as parking is free on Sunday, it's easy to visit this bar.

We'll certainly return - it was very good!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bad Sunday roast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

21 st. JulyWorst roast ,tough dry food,in pork chicken& lamb.lamb arrived as lamb shank, on complaining we were told that's how they do roast lamb,but on the menu it's classed as something special at 3 pounds more, nothing was done to rectify the situation, even from the manager! Money for old rope!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Castle and Ball, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. As stated on our menu, the lamb is a lamb shank, I'm very sorry that you expected it to be different from what the menu said.
I have discussed this with the Duty Manager, and issues with poor quality are dealt with differently, but as it is clear on the menu, you did recieve the food ordered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castle and Ball also viewed

Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Marlborough, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Castle and Ball? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Castle and Ball, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.